Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-12-2012, 01:40 PM

Default Getting ready for my 1st IFR trip, need some tips...

Hello all. My day job is driving a Dash 8 around the northeast, nearly 5000 hours in it. But now I'm trying to get myself ready to fly a nicely equipped RV7 IFR. I'm checked out in it and my dad and myself did a couple of short IFR trips. When I'm in my Dash, my eyes are trained where the information is that I need. In the RV, I find myself searching, which takes time and increases workload. I didn't realize how different it is flying IFR in GA compared to airlines. It's a lot of work! I know I'll get more comfortable with time.

My biggest problem that I need some help with is organizing. I'm used to having my flight bag right next to me with tons of room. In the 7, once you take off, if its not within reach, you aren't getting it.

On Friday, my buddy, who is a flight instructor, is going to help me get more familiar with the Garman 430 and 496. On Sat, my wife and myself are going to take a short IFR flight somewhere to get lunch. That'll be our practice trip. Should be a beautiful day to go fly. This is all to get ready for our big trip, a flight from NC to FL for Christmas. My minimums are going to be pretty high. I'm not going to be flying in bad weather anytime soon. I get paid to fly in bad weather, I'm not doing it on my days off

I'll have my iPhone 5 with foreflight, and normal charts and maps for back up. I'm thinking a small note pad with a pen and some clips to clip charts to.

What do you guys do to stay organized?

Thanks guys,
Steve

Old 12-12-2012, 01:49 PM