VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-10
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2012, 08:26 PM
bwestfall bwestfall is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 177
Default RV-10 Forest of Tabs Ground Location

I'm looking for pic's of people's grounding block installation for placement. Facing the firewall somewhere between the center and left ribs. I'm just wondering if anyone ran in to a gotcha in that location anywhere?

Bob L. I sorta could see a pic on your kitlog site but it was small and somewhat hard to see.

THX
__________________
Ben Westfall
RV-10 104EE flying
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2012, 08:34 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 16,106
Default

__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2012, 09:46 PM
Strasnuts Strasnuts is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 557
Default Here's mine

__________________
A&P RV-10 Flying 1000+ hours
SuperSTOL Flying 170 hours
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:29 PM
flion's Avatar
flion flion is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 2,708
Default

That's a great location but that's where I have my righthand VP200 box mounted (the other is mirrored on the left side). On my RV-6A, it's on one of the firewall weldments. As the first photo shows, it doesn't need to be on the firewall, and orientation is not vital either. When I was building the -6A, I just kept it clamped in an approximate location while I was doing my testing and didn't finalize it until everything else had been set. It's like working in the engine compartment: some things have a required location, so do them first and then fit the other things around them.
__________________
Patrick Kelley - Flagstaff, AZ
RV-6A N156PK - Flying too much to paint
RV-10 14MX(reserved) - Fuselage on gear
http://www.mykitlog.com/flion/
EAA Technical Counselor #5357
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2012, 11:11 PM
bwestfall bwestfall is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 177
Default

I was thinking of mounting it vertical so as not to have to secure it via the middle screw hole (just another firewall hole). No big deal though I guess and I suppose it gives you another easy place to run a ground wire under the cowl. Those are few and typically easy to find a spot on the engine case if needed.
__________________
Ben Westfall
RV-10 104EE flying
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2012, 12:08 AM
N427EF N427EF is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,565
Default Gotcha

The entire front bay is a Gotcha location for anything other than stuff you absolutely don't ever have to touch again after the panel is installed.
Unless you install access panels, in which case you can disregard my post.
Why not mount them on the second bulkhead facing the pilot?
Having them here allows you to do most of the wiring in an upright position while sitting on the seat. Once the panel is installed you can easily access it by removing an EFIS.
Anything mounted higher than the horizontal brace on the firewall will force you to work upside down with your head bumping up against the rudder pedals and in a most awkward position trying to reach a spade connector or what have you. Of course its easy while the cover is still off.
Here is what worked for me.

__________________
Ernst Freitag
RV-8 finished (sold)
RV-10 IO-540 8.5:1
Running on 91 Octane E10 mogas since 2011
Don't believe everything you know.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2012, 07:06 AM
blahphish's Avatar
blahphish blahphish is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Marietta, GA (KCZL)
Posts: 313
Default

__________________
Brian Unrein
RV10 N42BU 1,000+ hours!
First flight 6-16-12
https://N42BU.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2012, 07:28 AM
CharlieWaffles's Avatar
CharlieWaffles CharlieWaffles is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 1,358
Default

Do you run a direct ground wife from the engine to the tabs in the forward bay? How are you connecting an engine ground?
__________________
CharlieWaffles - But you can call me "Mark"
RV-10
N928MT
Flying - AKA Still Tinkering
Build Project Site
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:04 AM
N427EF N427EF is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,565
Default

The aircraft is metal and conductivity is uninterrupted from the firewall.
The RV10 engine mount has 2 tabs welded on for ground straps. I also have a ground strap directly from the firewall.
The direct ground strap to forest of grounding tabs has been debated elsewhere but is just not necessary in an all metal aircraft.
Several postings of ground tabs on the second bulkhead are all working out just fine. One more thing while we are on the subject of "Gotcha" in the front bay. I used nut plates for every conceivable mounting configuration, because it is even difficult to reach behind the second bulkhead once the panel is installed.
All those adel clamps that you see for wire routing have nut plates and allow you to use a large size adel to string wires and when you are done you can easily remove them and install the correct size.
__________________
Ernst Freitag
RV-8 finished (sold)
RV-10 IO-540 8.5:1
Running on 91 Octane E10 mogas since 2011
Don't believe everything you know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:31 AM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 1,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieWaffles View Post
Do you run a direct ground wife from the engine to the tabs in the forward bay? How are you connecting an engine ground?
I'm running one up to the firewall and then jumping from the firewall directly to the engine case with a short jumper of #2 wire. To provide a secondary ground, I'm going putting a regular ground strap between the engine case and one of the tabs on the motor mount.

I'm also putting smaller tabs in each wing-tip, under the seats, and one in the tail. Each of those will be grounded back to the tabs on FW.

I realize it's overkill, but I've spent too much time chasing down phantom ground problems when relying on the structure itself to provide a reliable path to the battery. I decided to fix it now, before I get cross-eyed ****** off on the ramp one hot August afternoon in Texas.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.