VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 12-20-2011, 07:16 PM
JohnJacobsen's Avatar
JohnJacobsen JohnJacobsen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Taylor, TX
Posts: 98
Default Low air speed

I could use a little help on this one. My air speed has been reading low since first flight. I am indicating a stall of 35 knots, the airspeed is consistantly off thru the whole speed range. Rv-7 equiped with Dynon D-180, Dyon pitot, safe air static.
Pitot static tested ok, air damns in front of static no effect, static vented to cabin slight change, new static and pitot lines no effect, drilled out safe air ports and installed rivet (like vans ports) no effect, added washer under static port (rivet) no effect, different pitot tube no effect.
Have not compared to another airspeed indicator as I only have one. Seems to me that the D-180 is off, but Dynon tells me that since it passed the pitot static test that it was probably ok.
If anyone has any suggestions for me I would appreciate it.
__________________
John Jacobsen
RV7 Flying "Aluminum Falcon"
Zenith CH750 (Scratch building) SOLD
Locost 7 (Lotus 7 replica)
Taylor TX

Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/johnjaco...e=results_main
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2011, 07:24 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 12,887
Default

I would go back and check your entire pitot system again.

Mine was reading low, and like you, my stall was at 35 MPH. I replaced the entire pitot and AoA lines, from the D100 back to the Dynon pitot tube. Found a pretty good leak at the connection to the pitot tube. Problem solved.
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2011, 07:29 PM
JohnJacobsen's Avatar
JohnJacobsen JohnJacobsen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Taylor, TX
Posts: 98
Default

I've already replaced the lines, both pitot and static. As well as passing a pitot static test with a Barfield pitot static tester.
__________________
John Jacobsen
RV7 Flying "Aluminum Falcon"
Zenith CH750 (Scratch building) SOLD
Locost 7 (Lotus 7 replica)
Taylor TX

Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/johnjaco...e=results_main
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2011, 07:38 PM
Tom Martin Tom Martin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,591
Default

set your altimeter to field elevation and then do a low pass (100) over the runway and note the altimeter setting. You will have to eyeball the 100 feet but if the altimeter is reading something much different then the 100 feet plus field elevation then you have a static error.
__________________
Tom Martin RV1 pilot 4.6hours!
CPL & IFR rated
EVO F1 Rocket 1000 hours,
2010 SARL Rocket 100 race, average speed of 238.6 knots/274.6mph
RV4, RV7, RV10, two HRIIs and five F1 Rockets
RV14 Tail dragger

Fairlea Field
St.Thomas, Ontario Canada, CYQS
fairleafield@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:35 PM
lostpilot28's Avatar
lostpilot28 lostpilot28 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 1,095
Default

Already replaced the lines and checked the static system for leaks? My next guess would be the instrument. Fortunately for you, Dynon has (I think) the ability to calibrate your airspeed and altimeter.
__________________
Sonny W
Boise, Idaho
RV-7A Flying!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:46 PM
LettersFromFlyoverCountry's Avatar
LettersFromFlyoverCountry LettersFromFlyoverCountry is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN.
Posts: 4,826
Default

Any other RVers in the area with a similar Dynon instrument you could swap out for a quick check?
__________________
Bob Collins
St. Paul, MN.
Blog: Letters From Flyover Country
RV-12iS Powerplant kit
N612EF Builder log (EAA Builder log)
Last article: "Gonna Finish This Sucker" (Kitplanes)
Waiting for the avionics kit (backordered: chip shortage)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:48 PM
AX-O's Avatar
AX-O AX-O is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,545
Default

Did you try the recalibration function on the Dynon?
__________________
Axel
RV-4 fastback thread and Pics
VAF 2020 paid VAF 704
The information that I post is just that; information and my own personal experiences. You need to weigh out the pros and cons and make up your own mind/decisions. The pictures posted may not show the final stage or configuration. Build at your own risk. Further more, these are my opinions and not those of my employer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:49 PM
JohnJacobsen's Avatar
JohnJacobsen JohnJacobsen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Taylor, TX
Posts: 98
Default

Nobody I know that has a D-180. Looking for a steam gage Airspeed to hook up for comparison.
__________________
John Jacobsen
RV7 Flying "Aluminum Falcon"
Zenith CH750 (Scratch building) SOLD
Locost 7 (Lotus 7 replica)
Taylor TX

Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/johnjaco...e=results_main
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:51 PM
JohnJacobsen's Avatar
JohnJacobsen JohnJacobsen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Taylor, TX
Posts: 98
Default

Yeah tried recalibration
__________________
John Jacobsen
RV7 Flying "Aluminum Falcon"
Zenith CH750 (Scratch building) SOLD
Locost 7 (Lotus 7 replica)
Taylor TX

Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/johnjaco...e=results_main
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:53 PM
NDrv8r's Avatar
NDrv8r NDrv8r is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJacobsen View Post
Have not compared to another airspeed indicator as I only have one. Seems to me that the D-180 is off, but Dynon tells me that since it passed the pitot static test that it was probably ok.
If anyone has any suggestions for me I would appreciate it.
airpeed calibration is not part of the static system test, however the Barfield test box is capable of airpeed testing. my skyview and D6 were spot on.

you might consider using a homemade water manometer to check your airpeed and plumbing. search for other threads on airspeed, you'll find more info.
__________________
Larry Buller
RV7A slow build, Tip up, IO360 200hp, Catto 3 blade, Dynon Skyview, arinc 429, ems, SV transponder, Garmin GNS430w, Aera 560, Dynon D6.
FLYING!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.