What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV10 Laser Cut issues for current builders

Sallcock

All

I am a relative newbie to this community and I received my empennage kit from Vans in July 2022. I started work in September 2022 on the kit and I am just finishing it off a year later - I am one of the (unlucky) people who received an email from Vans yesterday stating that there may be a reason to replace many different parts of my newly built empennage. I have looked through the list of parts for the RV10 and its a lot of work to break down the elevator / rudder / H&V stabilisers plus the actual fuselage itself

The recommendations fall into two parts

Replacement Recommended or Acceptable for use

After looking at the lists for the RV10 I am concerned that to replace the recommended parts for the empennage kit will not only require another extensive period of time but also will require me to disassemble the work done and probably end up with damage to the skins etc in the process.

I have raised my concerns with Vans via email and thus far have not heard back from them, I think that its probably better to obtain a new empennage and build it from scratch and I have suggested that to them.

I didn't notice any issues when assembling the empennage and certainly didn't notice any of the examples shown in the guide to the identification of parts that may be affected by this laser cutting debacle - links to all below.

So my question is - how many others have been affected by this and what's your take on how you want to resolve this