VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 09-12-2021, 08:17 PM
bhester's Avatar
bhester bhester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hopkinsville, KY
Posts: 1,037
Default Garmin G3X touch alerts

Ok, I’ve got a Garmin GMA 340 audio panel and a Garmin G3X touch system. I have never connected the two for alerts. I do have a AFS 2500 engine monitor connected to the audio panel though the alert input. I am going to connect the G3X to the audio panel, should I connect it to the alert input with the engine monitor, (two wires going to the same pins) or should I hook up the G3X to my COM 3 input? I could then silent my G3X alerts by turning off COM 3.
OK, let me have it…..
__________________
Bobby Hester - Builder/Pilot/A&P
Surfing the web from Hopkinsville, KY
N857BH RV7A XP-O360 - Garmin G3X ADS-B IN/OUT 2020 Compliant
Web site: http://www.newtech.com/bobbyhester/RVSite.htm
Dec. 2020 VAF donator - alot better than any magazine subscription
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2021, 09:11 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 283
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhester View Post
Ok, Iíve got a Garmin GMA 340 audio panel and a Garmin G3X touch system. I have never connected the two for alerts. I do have a AFS 2500 engine monitor connected to the audio panel though the alert input. I am going to connect the G3X to the audio panel, should I connect it to the alert input with the engine monitor, (two wires going to the same pins) or should I hook up the G3X to my COM 3 input? I could then silent my G3X alerts by turning off COM 3.
OK, let me have itÖ..
Bobby,

Most of us use an unswitched, unmuted audio input for our EFIS alert audio, but since your GMA 340 only has one of that type audio input (ALT WRN), and it seems to be in use by your 3rd party engine monitor, then you could either use the unswitched TEL RINGER IN audio input or one of the switched (with a front panel button) radio audio inputs such as NAV1, NAV2, ADF, or DME.

Click image for larger version

Name:	GMA340 Audio.png
Views:	26
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	15744

I would probably avoid using the COM3 audio input just to be sure that the COM radio mic is never accidentally selected to that unused radio position.

You shouldn't simply parallel the EFIS alert audio to the same input that is already connected to the engine monitor.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2021, 11:21 AM
bhester's Avatar
bhester bhester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hopkinsville, KY
Posts: 1,037
Default Good info

Thanks Steve,
I believe I'll hook it up to the DME switch since I wont be using it for anything. I've already started the work, Man I wish that harness was 6-8" longer, worked good at the time, not so much now adding stuff that I never thought I'd be adding, wasn't even around back in 2007.
__________________
Bobby Hester - Builder/Pilot/A&P
Surfing the web from Hopkinsville, KY
N857BH RV7A XP-O360 - Garmin G3X ADS-B IN/OUT 2020 Compliant
Web site: http://www.newtech.com/bobbyhester/RVSite.htm
Dec. 2020 VAF donator - alot better than any magazine subscription
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.