VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 06-15-2020, 11:14 PM
ZemsRV4 ZemsRV4 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Weatherford TX
Posts: 33
Default Fuel flow problem

Looking for some help diagnosing a fuel flow problem. I have a MGL Stratomaster Infinity FF-1 fuel computer with a Floscan 201 sender. It has always worked great, but all of the sudden the FF reads 1.1 gal/hr regardless of throttle/RPM. It reads 0 gal/hr with the engine off as it should. I have checked the settings, K-factor and electrical wires and all appears fine. Before I drop $400 on another Floscan that might not be the problem, I am wondering if anyone has any ideas to try. I have read that an air bubble in the sender will cause errors, but the Floscan is supposed to vent those. I did replace the fuel lines recently, but it was working fine after that. Any help would be appreciated.

Zem
__________________
Brian
RV-4 N474P
Driftwood Ranch (XA86)
Weatherford, TX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2020, 05:44 AM
wilddog wilddog is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: va.
Posts: 673
Default

I have a used Floscan sender that came in a deal for a monitor. I never used it since my plane has a Red Cube. I?ll sell it for half price and if it doesn?t fix your problem, send it back for refund.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2020, 06:04 AM
z987k z987k is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZemsRV4 View Post
Looking for some help diagnosing a fuel flow problem. I have a MGL Stratomaster Infinity FF-1 fuel computer with a Floscan 201 sender. It has always worked great, but all of the sudden the FF reads 1.1 gal/hr regardless of throttle/RPM. It reads 0 gal/hr with the engine off as it should. I have checked the settings, K-factor and electrical wires and all appears fine. Before I drop $400 on another Floscan that might not be the problem, I am wondering if anyone has any ideas to try. I have read that an air bubble in the sender will cause errors, but the Floscan is supposed to vent those. I did replace the fuel lines recently, but it was working fine after that. Any help would be appreciated.

Zem
Take it out and check for an obstruction or other FOD that got in there and is slowing it down.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.