VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 06-08-2020, 08:42 PM
gharding gharding is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 26
Default ADS-B NO RADAR

Can anyone tell me what the message “ADS-B NO RADAR means? I am seeing this on my Dynon Skyview HDX, in the lower right hand corner of the map.

http://halie.com/scale/20/oDH.jpg

Thanks,
Gary

Last edited by gharding : 06-09-2020 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2020, 08:54 AM
GalinHdz's Avatar
GalinHdz GalinHdz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSGJ / TJBQ
Posts: 2,279
Default

Good question. I have asked the question on the DYNON forum to hear from them.

__________________
Galin
CP-ASEL-AMEL-IR
FCC Radiotelephone (PG) with Radar Endorsement
2021 Donation made
www.PuertoRicoFlyer.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2020, 08:54 AM
Skysailor Skysailor is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 294
Default

I have that on mine. I do not use the Dynon transponder which is why it is displayed per tech support. Do you also have an "other than Dynon" transponder? If so, yours is just like mine. It only has to do with traffic and not being able to as easily eliminate own ship. It does not affect the display of weather. All the weather displays work correctly.
__________________
RV4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2020, 09:19 AM
bkervaski's Avatar
bkervaski bkervaski is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,869
Default

He's getting intermittent traffic, even from air to air.

I met up with him from about 5 miles away Saturday and never showed up as an alert or otherwise on his ADSB.

However, he is broadcasting, I picked him up no problem.

New to him 14 from the west coast, Synergy build.
__________________
RV-14A #140376
N196 (Flying)
2019 Bronze Lindy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2020, 09:24 AM
DHeal DHeal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Windsor, California
Posts: 1,006
Default

See Page 5-28 of: https://www.dynonavionics.com/includ...ev_E_v15_4.pdf
__________________
David Heal - Windsor, CA (near Santa Rosa)
EAA #23982 (circa 1965) - EAA Technical Counselor and Flight Advisor; CFI - A&I
RV-12 E-LSA #120496 (SV w/ AP and ADS-B 2020) - N124DH flying since March 2014 - 1,080+ hours (as of Oct 2021)!
VAF donation through June 2022.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2020, 11:01 AM
N804RV's Avatar
N804RV N804RV is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mount Vernon, Wa
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skysailor View Post
I have that on mine. I do not use the Dynon transponder which is why it is displayed per tech support. Do you also have an "other than Dynon" transponder? If so, yours is just like mine. It only has to do with traffic and not being able to as easily eliminate own ship. It does not affect the display of weather. All the weather displays work correctly.
This is what @skysailor is talking about:

__________________
Ken W.
Mount Vernon, WA
2021 VAF Supporter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2020, 11:37 AM
RV7A Flyer's Avatar
RV7A Flyer RV7A Flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 2,528
Default

Quote:
The ground-basedADS-B system is reporting that it does not have your airplane in radar contact, or that your system is not seeing the ground station reporting your airplane is in radar contact. Although you are receiving ADS-B traffic from other ADS-B equipped aircraft, you may not be receiving all detectable traffic because you maynot be currently in a radar service volume and ADS-B service volume. Therefore, the traffic portrait may be incomplete.
Yep, this is directly from the Skyview User's Manual.

Imagine that.
__________________
2019 Dues paid!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2020, 11:45 AM
gharding gharding is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 26
Default

I do have the Dynon SV-XPNDR-261/262 Dual Band ADS-B transponder system installed in my RV-14. It may be a system setup issue that I am unfamiliar with. I do have a call into Dynon Avionics Tech Support for another issue and will post what I find out from them. Thanks for your response.

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2020, 08:29 PM
RVDan RVDan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 942
Default

Re: NO RADAR- I believe it means no weather radar data.
__________________
Dan Morris
Frederick, MD
PA28-140
Hph 304CZ
RV6 built and sold
N199EC RV6A flying
Retired Aerospace Engineer and A&P/IA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-10-2020, 10:06 AM
lon@carolon.net lon@carolon.net is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 159
Default

Is the ?No Radar? alert always showing, or is it intermittent? If it?s intermittent, it may mean that you?ve flown into an area that radar does not reach. In the Los Angeles area, I get ?No Radar? when flying in the area around Camarillo, but the alert goes away when I get closer to Santa Monica.
__________________
Lon Sobel
Santa Monica, CA
VAF 2021 Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.