VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2020, 07:40 PM
Jskyking Jskyking is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Huntsville,AL
Posts: 170
Default AN470 AD 6-5 rivet/ tank rib sub assembly

The plans below call for a 6-5 rivet though the kit only includes 6-6?s. My first attempt at setting this rivet was with the DDRT dimpler. The first rivet set went good, the second was a disaster. The plans call for using a C-frame, that might have helped had I owned one.

As I understand, this large rivet is only there to fill a hole and requires only enough squeezing ? to retain the rivet in the hole?.
I presume that to mean as long as the rivet doesn?t turn and doesn?t fall out it?s good to go.

Anyhow- is there an effective method to facilitate setting this large rivet without a c-frame?

In lieu of no other direction, My plan tomorrow is to put a slight squeeze on the rivet with my DDRT or tap it with a bucking gun and rivet set, if I have one large enough to fit this big honking rivet.
Thanks

__________________
RV14 Empenage complete
Wings in work
Dues bypass eligible- paid anyhow
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2020, 06:42 AM
RV6-KPTW RV6-KPTW is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sebastian Fl X26
Posts: 233
Default

I set those with rivet gun / bucking bar.
__________________
Dennis Callaghan (X26)
- RV14 sn:140193 - Awesome airplane!
- donation 11/17/2022
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2020, 06:47 AM
Mark Browning Mark Browning is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Doncaster England
Posts: 76
Default

This can be achieved with the correct size set and a Yoke in the hand squeezer.
The pneumatic squeezer struggles to set AD6's
It will take a few squeezes and adjustments to get it to set
Remember to use a bit of pro seal under the rivet head
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2020, 07:59 AM
Jskyking Jskyking is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Huntsville,AL
Posts: 170
Default

Two very good ideas. I may try both methods.
Thanks.jt
__________________
RV14 Empenage complete
Wings in work
Dues bypass eligible- paid anyhow
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2020, 09:29 AM
jacoby jacoby is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: WNC
Posts: 352
Default

FWIW, on my -10, a local builder gave me some 470A-6-? (soft) rivets that I cut down to the -5 length. They set easily and quickly with the gun. -6 length is too long since you are just going through the one skin. I would trim one to -5 length if possible, especially since you are using AD rivets, and see how it set. 1/16" makes a pretty big difference.

And, yeah, you are just trying to fill the tooling holes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2020, 10:11 AM
wirejock's Avatar
wirejock wirejock is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Estes Park, CO
Posts: 5,871
Default #6 rivet

I put my bar in the vise so the base was firmly planted on the vise frame. Set the rivet with a gun. It just filling the tooling hole. As long as it doesn't rattle, slop some proseal over it and call it good.
__________________
Larry Larson
Estes Park, CO
E-mail: wirejock at yahoo dot com
Builder Blog: http://wirejockrv7a.blogspot.com
Donated 12/2022, plus a little extra.
RV-7A #73391, N511RV reserved
Disclaimer
I cannot be, nor will I be, held responsible if you try to do the same things I do and it does not work and/or causes you loss, injury, or even death in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2020, 10:21 AM
tyconnell's Avatar
tyconnell tyconnell is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 297
Default

Can a cherry max be used here?
__________________
Ty Connell
ty.connell@gmail.com
Donated 2021
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2020, 11:51 AM
wirejock's Avatar
wirejock wirejock is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Estes Park, CO
Posts: 5,871
Default Pop rivet

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyconnell View Post
Can a cherry max be used here?
No need for a structural rivet. It's just plugging a tooling hole. Find a pop rivet the right size. I recommend the factory head on the inside of the tank.
__________________
Larry Larson
Estes Park, CO
E-mail: wirejock at yahoo dot com
Builder Blog: http://wirejockrv7a.blogspot.com
Donated 12/2022, plus a little extra.
RV-7A #73391, N511RV reserved
Disclaimer
I cannot be, nor will I be, held responsible if you try to do the same things I do and it does not work and/or causes you loss, injury, or even death in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2020, 12:07 PM
engineerorange engineerorange is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Catawba, NC
Posts: 207
Default another option

I riveted a square patch over the hole when I built my tanks, didn't have any 470-6 rivets.
__________________
mangling aluminum since May 2009
RV7-A, flying
RV8 under construction
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2020, 03:24 PM
kbalch's Avatar
kbalch kbalch is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 589
Default

I set those with a rivet gun in the C-frame. Easy-peasy.
__________________
Ken

RV-8 N118KB (#81125) - Sold
RV-14A N114KB (#140494) - Sold

RV-14A.com
N114KB Build Site
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.