VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2020, 11:28 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Default Garmin GTN 6XX/7XX Software 6.70 Now Available for Download (1/24/2020)

The GTN V6.70 EAB Service Bulletin and software were loaded to the EAB Software Download Area today.

There are two different links on the download page for Service Bulletin 2010. The first link is the Service Bulletin documentation. The second link includes the software file. Please see the Service Bulletin documentation for complete details and make sure you are familiar and comfortable with the software update process outlined there before attempting it on your own aircraft. If not, the option of seeking assistance from a dealer is still available.

We mentioned when V8.40 was released that you can now view and tune the NAV radio on the GDU (as shown below), much the same as you could with a COM radio, but that the feature was only available for the SL 30 NAV radio. With a successful update to GTN Software 6.70, NAV tuning will now available for the GTN 650 and GTN 750.



To enable NAV tuning on the G3X Touch, power on the display in configuration mode and select NAV Radio. Select which NAV Radio you want displayed on the databar at the top of the display. When a NAV Radio is enabled in this fashion, you will have a new setting available in the Display Configuration settings to customize how the NAV Radio controls are displayed. The minimized selection will free up some space on the databar to display other data-fields, if needed.

'NAV Radio Controls' allows for the selection of two versions of the displayed NAV fields:

• Normal (default setting)–The NAV radio's active and standby frequencies are displayed in two adjacent windows. This setting applies to all NAV radios displayed on the screen.



• Minimized–The NAV radio's active and standby frequencies are displayed as stacked in one window. This setting applies to all NAV radios displayed on the screen.



GTN 6XX/7XX software version 6.70 includes the following:

• Allow Remote NAV Tuning from G3X system
• Support crossfill between GTN and GTN Xi
• Updates GPS/WAAS software to v5.3. No functional changes
• Added GI 275 support
• Corrected the display of GNX 375 transponder software version
• When Transponder Emergency Mode is enabled and if the transponder had been set to the VFR code, press and hold of the COM volume knob now sets the transponder squawk code to the emergency code
• Fixed “Say Bearing and Distance from Destination Airport” and “Say Time to Descent” ASR Say Commands

As always, please feel to free to send any questions our way, or reach out to us directly at G3Xpert@Garmin.com.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 01-28-2020 at 09:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2020, 07:13 AM
Ezburton Ezburton is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 106
Default Do software updates have to be installed sequentially?

I had an issue once where an update changed something and when I went to shake out the aircraft following maintenance, things were not as they were and I thought I had goofed up something. Turned out it was due to a software change. So I only update software after I do the post maintenance check flight.

My plane has been down for maintenance for the last 3 months and I have missed a few of the G3X Touch updates. My question is, do I have to do the previous (seemingly major) updates before I do the latest or can I skip them?

Thanks,
__________________
Don
Velocity SEFG
Paid 2020 Membership
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2020, 08:31 AM
NovaBandit's Avatar
NovaBandit NovaBandit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 584
Default

Nice!

I just finished my instrument rating behind the G3X Touch / GTN650 panel... what an amazing system. The CFIIs I flew with were all blown away!

And now it's better!

Thanks Garmin!!!
__________________
Ed Kranz
RV-10 N829EC - Flying
First Flight: 8/29/15
KSGS - Fleming Field, South Saint Paul, Minnesota

YouTube.com/GoodPlaneLiving
-- Build Timelapse and Travel Videos . . GoodPlaneLiving.com -- Build and Travel Blog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2020, 03:23 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Default G3X Touch Intermediate Loads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezburton View Post
I had an issue once where an update changed something and when I went to shake out the aircraft following maintenance, things were not as they were and I thought I had goofed up something. Turned out it was due to a software change. So I only update software after I do the post maintenance check flight.

My plane has been down for maintenance for the last 3 months and I have missed a few of the G3X Touch updates. My question is, do I have to do the previous (seemingly major) updates before I do the latest or can I skip them?

Thanks,
There are no intermediate loads required for the G3X Touch. You should be able to jump straight to software version 8.61. What software level are you currently running?

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2020, 07:12 PM
rgodsy's Avatar
rgodsy rgodsy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Peculiar, MO
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaBandit View Post
Nice!

I just finished my instrument rating behind the G3X Touch / GTN650 panel... what an amazing system. The CFIIs I flew with were all blown away!

And now it's better!

Thanks Garmin!!!
Ed really enjoyed your awesome YouTube videos! Congrats on the instrument rating. I enjoy flying instruments on my G3X panel too.
__________________
RV-7A N67RG First Flight 2/21/2019
Dual Garmin G3x Touch, GTN 650Xi, GTR 200, GMA 245, GMC 307, GTX 345R, G5 ....
Aero Sport Superior IO 360 M1S CS

Dues Paid for 2021
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2020, 06:26 AM
BCP Boys's Avatar
BCP Boys BCP Boys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kennesaw, Ga
Posts: 881
Default Minimize stacked window for Com?

Justin/G3X Team
Is there a way or upcoming update that will allow us to have the Minimized version for the Com radio as well or at least for 1 side. I'm thinking because of the limited space on the top bar, it would be nice to have both Nav1 and Nav2 next to Com1 and Com2 but only take up 2 windows instead of 4.
__________________
Amir
----------
RV-7 - Regretfully Sold
RV-10 - Sold

Supporting VAF since the first visit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2020, 12:06 PM
Ed_Wischmeyer's Avatar
Ed_Wischmeyer Ed_Wischmeyer is online now
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,574
Default

The nav feature is really cool because it shows not just the ILS Morse ID, but also the runway number -- very handy if you're going into an airport with multiple ILS, like my home field. This saves having to look at the approach plate and check the Morse ID for the correct runway...

If you touch the standby nav frequency, it brings up a touchpad that also has a Find feature. One of the options there is Nearest Navaids, which is again really helpful. It also has (mislabeled) comm frequencies, and this will turn tune the standby comm frequency. Strictly speaking, comm freqs don't belong on the nav page but it is very handy! This page also shows distance and bearing to all the nearest navaids and also airport with navaids at the airport, sort of like the Nearest feature except it shows navaids and airports and you don't have to select which. Really cool!

On the GTN650, when an ILS is tuned, the GTN shows when the Morse ID has been decoded by the GTN. That feature didn't make it onto the new G3X Nav frequency display, but hopefully it will. (Feature request).

Since I've got two touchscreens and rarely use VHF nav for other than ILS, I show the Nav frequencies on the near side of the MFD so that I don't reduce the available slots for showing parameters on the PFD.
__________________
RV-9A at KSAV (Savannah, GA; dual G3X Touch with autopilot, GTN650, GTX330ES, GDL52 ADSB-In)
Previously RV-4, RV-8, RV-8A, AirCam, Cessna 175
ATP CFII PhD, so I have no excuses when I screw up
Vaccines kept me out of the hospital but COVID still cost me a month of living, all told...

Last edited by Ed_Wischmeyer : 01-29-2020 at 12:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2020, 04:59 PM
Kwright's Avatar
Kwright Kwright is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Roy, UT
Posts: 59
Default

Just ran the GTN650 upgrade but the GPS/WAAS Board Software 5.3 Failed to update. I don't see any instructions on what to do about it. Also received a message that the terrain database is now corrupt.
__________________
Kent Wright, UT
N216KW
RV6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2020, 07:37 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Default GTN Software Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwright View Post
Just ran the GTN650 upgrade but the GPS/WAAS Board Software 5.3 Failed to update. I don't see any instructions on what to do about it. Also received a message that the terrain database is now corrupt.
Hi Kent,

Please email us at G3Xpert@Garmin.com, and we will help you get this sorted out.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2020, 09:12 PM
hgerhardt's Avatar
hgerhardt hgerhardt is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: torrance, ca
Posts: 744
Default

Had problems updating the WAAS part too. Gave up after about 4 tries. Cycled power, installed new nav database, cycled power again and then tried installing the WAAS part again and this time it worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.