VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 09-20-2016, 05:07 PM
Larryskydives Larryskydives is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 55
Default Trutrak autotrim question

Installing a Gemini AP with autotrim. Schematic shows status light and says do not connect to aircraft power. Where should it be connected. Going to call Trutrak. But closed for the day. Thought someone might know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2016, 05:22 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,683
Default

You must be using a different manual than I have. Mine doesn't show anything about a status light. There is a status light on the trim module itself.
__________________
Jesse Saint
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2016, 05:26 PM
Larryskydives Larryskydives is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 55
Default

Led status light. Coming off of pin 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2016, 06:54 PM
Finger Lakes RVer's Avatar
Finger Lakes RVer Finger Lakes RVer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ogden UT
Posts: 43
Default

Larry- assuming it's power off of pin 7 to power the status light. I just got my upgrade and will be diving into the wiring this weekend. Did you replace the pitch servo from the ADI II? Does it bolt in to the old mount?
__________________
John "JB" Balbierer
Ogden, UT
1998 RV-6, N30JB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2016, 06:57 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,683
Default

The servo should fit the same mount. If your ADI didn't have a trim-sensing servo you'll need to change it. Otherwise you could use the same servo.
__________________
Jesse Saint
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2016, 07:05 PM
Larryskydives Larryskydives is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 55
Default

This is a new installation. If I don't have an answer tonight, I will follow tomorrow after contacting Trutrak
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2016, 08:39 AM
TrutrakTech TrutrakTech is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Springdale, AR
Posts: 547
Default

It means don't connect that pin on the autotrim directly to power. We had that happen more than twice when this version of the autotrim came out, so we added that to the manual. The other side of the lamp DOES have to be connected to 12V. I hope that makes it a little more clear.
__________________
Trutrak Tech Support
trutrakap.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2017, 10:55 AM
exercise exercise is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 194
Default

The Trutrak automatic pitch trim installation manual is has been recently updated to Revision I which shows the LED going to pin 7(short leg of the LED) and +12V(long leg) which according to Trutrak Tech, would be the 12V on the autopilot master switch. The updated manual is found on the Trutrak web site.
__________________
THX, John in Twin Cities, MN
RV4
dual pmags and EI Commander
0601054 att gmaill dot comm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:07 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.