- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 02-15-2016, 10:46 PM

Default My first build: RV-8

I've been lurking on this site for a few months and want to say thanks to everyone for the awesome information so far. I learn something new every time I'm on here. I'm new to building airplanes and have a ton of questions. It seems like every time I get an answer to a question, two more pop up.

After much consideration, I think I'm ready to pull the trigger on an RV-8 quick build kit. Before I order plans and empannage, I want to make sure I'm going with the correct model.

My main mission is to fly back and forth from Central Colorado, south of Denver to Tulsa. I've wanted to fly for as long as I can remember and now seems like the best time in my life to do so as we are moving to CO and I would need to go to and from Tulsa occasionally for work. I also want to putt around with the wife and see the sights, go on some fun trips and learn as I go. This is what has turned me on to Vans the most as they seem to fit the bill for all. Above all of that, my two biggest concerns are speed and fuel burn (that may change as I go). I'd like to be able to make the trip around 3 hours. I'm not much on aerobatics (that may change, I have never ridden in anything but commercial aircraft and medical helicopters). I'm choosing the -8 over the -7 as there is a little more room for each of us, and I'd like us both to see out of the sides (more her preference; happy wife, happy life, right?). We are both around 6 ft tall. It would be me flying solo 95% of the time. So far, does it seem like the RV-8 would be the right model for me?

As far as motors, props and all other things, I don't know enough yet to make a fully informed decision. I'm all ears!

Also, if anyone in the Tulsa area has some insight and wants to help a new guy out, I'll buy the drinks and food just to listen.