VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:26 PM
grover grover is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: savannah
Posts: 355
Default when to install

am debating about installing autopilot (or provisions) now, or waiting until after getting this thing flying. the theory being I can defer some outlays until later. would it be too much pain to add servos, etc, to a completed plane?
__________________
james kleen
savannah
RV8sp
- RV3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2006, 10:19 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,301
Default Pitch Servo Brackets

James - if you are at all thinking about a Tru-Track in your future, I'd install the brackets for the pitch servo now - they are simply slightly longer angles that hold the elevator bellcrank, and scarring for it now will cost a buck or two in material and save some retrofitting later. You might also think about scarring in some appropriate wires.

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2006, 10:46 AM
frankh's Avatar
frankh frankh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Corvallis Oregon
Posts: 3,547
Default I agree

I installed a Pictorial pilot during the build and added the wiring for the ALTRAK.

To be honest the PP is not useful during phase 1, just as a GNS430 isn't either.

I delayed the purchase of the GNS430 (for instrument flying) and left out the ALTRAK.

If I were doing it again I would lalso eave out the PP as well but prewire for both, and stick them in at the end of phase 1.

I would also drill the hole in the becrank for the ALTRAK...Now I have to take my belcrank out ...I think.

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2006, 04:31 PM
Steve Ashby's Avatar
Steve Ashby Steve Ashby is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stone Mountain, Georgia
Posts: 483
Default Think about servo installation now

James,
When I was at Oshkosh last July, I visited the Trio autopilot folks and was very impressed with their product (as are those who have flown them). The trio guys encouraged me to purchase an aileron servo now ($700) and install in in the wing before closing it up. I was hesitant, but they gave me a written guarantee that I could return the servo for any reason (including if I did not like the color). I went ahead with the purchase and installed the brackets for it in my right wing before riveting on the bottom skins. In reality, you are fabricating the servo bracket and doubler and then removing the entire assembly before final installation of the bottom skins. Making the servo bracket was a piece of cake with the bottom skins off. Now that the skins are all installed permanently, I can reinstall the servo through the inspection hole quite easily. As an added bonus, this lets me purchase the autopilot system over a little time rather than taking the big hit in the wallet all at once. Have fun!
Steve Ashby
__________________
Steve Ashby
Stone Mountain, GA
N184RW (reserved)
RV-8A
YIO-360 180 hp Lycoming
Hartzell Blended Airfoil Prop
Engine Hung
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2006, 05:03 PM
RV7Factory's Avatar
RV7Factory RV7Factory is offline
Chief Obfuscation Officer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 1,110
Default

Steve, do you have any pics of your installation you can share? I am getting ready to start closing up the wings, and I have been thinking of the roll servo myself. I have seen the SafeAir1 kit, which can be added later, but I don't thing I have seen a standard trio install (in the wing).
__________________
Brad Oliver
Livermore, CA | RV-7 | SOLD
RV-7: RV7Factory.com | iPhone app list: AviatorApps.com | Photography: BradOliver.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2006, 06:37 PM
bullojm1's Avatar
bullojm1 bullojm1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,042
Default

Can the Trio and the Tru Trak use the same servo? The only reason I ask is I wouldn't mind putting the servo bracket in before I close my wing up, but it would be nice to delay any choice as long as possible.
__________________
Mike Bullock
RV-7, Flying!
http://www.rvplane.com
EAA Technical Counselor
The Best FAA N-Number Availability Search Engine -TailNum.com

Last edited by bullojm1 : 10-20-2006 at 07:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2006, 07:01 PM
BlackRV7's Avatar
BlackRV7 BlackRV7 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 704
Default Pics of Trio Install

If you will send me an email to Bo124rs@hotmail.com I'll send you some pics Jerry initially sent me of the install of the new Trio Servo. Very, very nice unit. Highly recommend. If you don't want attachments, let me know and I'll throw them up on my website.
__________________
Dana Overall
Richmond, KY i39
http://www.DanaOverallCPA.com
Repeat offender, RV-10 emp
Builder/former owner, RV-7, "Black Magic" Flying
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMi05-WU2D0#GU5U2spHI_4
VAF #993
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.