VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
w/a Donation






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 05-02-2023, 07:40 PM
Invicto89 Invicto89 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Orange, VA
Posts: 7
Default Another RV 12 GPS175 question

Having searched the site and done research using available construction/installation documentation from Vans, Dynon, and Garmin, I have this question:

First my aircraft configuration:

New in 2020 Airworthiness as RV-12iS
Dual Skyview HDX displays (I added the MFD afterwards)

1. For anyone with an RV-12iS GPS-175 installation, what power and ground source did you use?
ELECTRICAL-SYSTEMS-912iS-SkyView-WH-00133-R8.pdf page 8 Power Module ES-00059 Pins 48 and 49 show as unused Avionics' bus switched 7.5A NAV/COM fused power source with no attendant ground pin. Garmin GPS-175 Install Manual requires dedicated power/ground connection.

2. For anyone with RV-12iS Dynon Skyview HDX, did you wire a TO/GA switch, and if so, where did you mount and how was it wired?

Thanks,

Steve

PP/LSRM-I
'22 Donation made - sending 2023 in the mail (not a 3rd party payment service fan)
2020 RV-12iS Dynon 120482
TBD RV-8A 81635

Last edited by Invicto89 : 05-02-2023 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2023, 09:14 PM
madmax4499 madmax4499 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Onalaska
Posts: 34
Default

good questions, I have the same set up as you, I referenced Vans own diagram they use for the garmin IFR system, I wired up my 175 just as they did the 650 for power and ground, You just add a wire and pin in the harness. Super easy to do.

TO/GA switch not needed, the up button on the autopilot is used for the same function. tap autopilot up button, it indicates go around/add power, tap the 175 screen to initiate the missed and off you go.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2023, 12:10 AM
Invicto89 Invicto89 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Orange, VA
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks!

Where did you mount the GA35 Antenna?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2023, 04:43 PM
Amadeus's Avatar
Amadeus Amadeus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Basalt, CO/Lexington, KY
Posts: 229
Default

GPS175 addition just completed. Having the Garmin system I removed the GPS20A and used its power source. The antenna tray under the cowling is being used for the GA35 antenna of the GPS175 and I moved the G3X antenna from the tray under cowling into the avionics bay. Yes, it has the sheet of aluminum above it but I'm using the "external GPS" of the GPS175 as primary GPS. I ran (and stubbed) the TO/GA wires into the throttle tunnel and will get around to installing a TO/GA switch similarly to the Autopilot Disconnect button but on the Pilot side.
__________________
Jayson
RV-12iS
E-LSA

“Never feel sorry for a man who owns a plane.” -Charles Morse (Anthony Hopkins) Movie - "The Edge" https://youtu.be/dJD0lB4zRes
"...except during the month of Annual Condition Inspection." -Me (in the hangar)
"My first wife didn't like airplanes." - Gordon Baxter

Last edited by Amadeus : 05-08-2023 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.