What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Newbie here from central texas

HawkGuy

Okay so Im new here, Ive wanted to build an RV since i was a little kid, my grandfather is a pilot so is my father, both are AP mechanics, and my Dad is an IA. Ive been in the army for the past six years working on blackhawk helicopters and this year will be going to Army Flight School! Im working on getting my AP probably in the next couple months, and Im pushing my Dad, and my grandfather in maybe starting up one of these builds! I want to build the RV7A and just ordered the preview plans and will start looking through them and here shortly will order an empennage kit! but anyways ive been lurking here a while, and thought id finally say hello.

Right now im stationed in the central texas area and live predominantly in Abilene, if theres anyone in the area that would be willing to maybe meet up sometime accept a free lunch and beverage id be very enthusiastic about gettting a more intimate look at well any RV really! my names jeff and you can reach me through this site!

Welcome

Hello Jeff
Sounds like you have the bug too..... good luck. Working in the same shop with your dad and grandfather telling you what to do.... wow. My dad and I work together, I will be 40 this year, my dad still thinks I'm that 16 year old that needs a kick in the paints. I love him with all my heart, but want to kick his a*# some times.

well

haha actually it will be my dad and grandfather working in their own shop in arizona on either the wings or fuse, and me working in my own shop in texas on one or the other...

luckily i wont have to worry too much about being bullied, and i think i may tackle the fuse/emp so that i can design the panel the way i want it... lol

Got Bit

Very addicting! :D Welcome to the group. I fired you an email, if your ever in the Austin area drop a line.