Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-30-2012, 01:59 PM

Default Garmin GDL 39 will not connect to an autopilot?

I have a Garmin 696 which drives a Trutrak Digitrak autopilot. I would like to add the GDL 39 in order to get ADS-B weather and traffic. However the tech support person at Garmin said there is no way to add the GDL 39 to the 696 without losing the ability to drive an autopilot. Apparently it has something to do with the wires in/out. Now this seems very strange to me and not being an electrical expert I would like to ask if anyone can confirm or refute this? The tech support person at Trutrak looked at the GDL 39 manual and said it should work. So there is conflicting opinion on this.
Old 07-30-2012, 02:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pboyce View Post
I have a Garmin 696 which drives a Trutrak Digitrak autopilot. I would like to add the GDL 39 in order to get ADS-B weather and traffic. However the tech support person at Garmin said there is no way to add the GDL 39 to the 696 without losing the ability to drive an autopilot. Apparently it has something to do with the wires in/out. Now this seems very strange to me and not being an electrical expert I would like to ask if anyone can confirm or refute this? The tech support person at Trutrak looked at the GDL 39 manual and said it should work. So there is conflicting opinion on this.