VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2022, 08:22 PM
larrys larrys is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 221
Default Help! Panel GPS Questions

We are building an RV14A and it is ready to go, signed off by the FAA, ready to test fly and we can't get the 2 - AFS 5000 series panels, ACM (red block with internal breaker), Avidine, single ADAHAR, and 2 GPS to work together.

The GPS #2 is only reading through the passenger panel and the left seat will not register a GPS, but the avidine reads the GPS #1 just fine

Hopefully the brain trust would have some steps to troubleshoot the system
Thanks, Larry
__________________

RV-14 tail, First flight Feb 22'
Grateful to pay dues 21'

[/size]

Last edited by larrys : 02-01-2022 at 04:20 AM. Reason: fixed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2022, 08:48 PM
mikerkba mikerkba is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ely, Nevada
Posts: 251
Default No sweat, probably setup/configuration

Larry: Sounds like it is a minor matter that you can correct with all units running under power, once in configuration mode. AFS built a perfect panel (5600, ACM, Avidyne 540) for me and, when I encountered an apparent glitch at install, Rob was able to provide a one call solution.

Unfortunately, its Friday, so you might have to wait till Monday if Rob doesn't see your post. In the meantime, you could be sure you followed (double check) the first time start up sequences provided in the AFS materials, most likely the one for the EFIS units not the ACM.

Sorry that I cannot help you myself, but I have a single EFIS panel. In any event, don't stress. The AFS equipment is solid as a rock and the tech support unmatched. They will fix you up.
__________________
Mike Coster
BUILDER: N92MB RV7A (A/W 3/2009) - Sold
ADOPTED/reworked: N4032Q RV8A (8/2017)
Building: S-21 Outback/Titan, tail and cockpit mated (3/2020)
KELY/Ely, NV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2022, 10:40 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 16,337
Default Congratulations!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrys View Post
We are building an RV14A and it is ready to go, signed off by the FAA, ready to test fly

Larry
Larry---big congrats on getting this accomplished

Try calling AFS------Rob has taken care of a buddy on a Sat morning before.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2022, 05:09 AM
Bgill Bgill is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Douglas, GA
Posts: 118
Default Same Panel

Hi Larry,

It looks like you have almost the same panel as I do. I second the other replies. Rob and the team at AFS are top notch. There is also a pretty good discussion forum under support on the AFS web site.

One thing I recall having to do was the scan for network devices under calibration menu to make sure everything was connected and talking to each other. Regarding the ADAHAR it sounds like some communication error. I had some issues with mine only to find out that I had a wiring issue in the wing (owner builder induced). After figuring that out, it would calibrate correctly. Not saying that is your issue - just something to check out.

Like others have said, Rob & team can help sort it out.
__________________
Byron
RV-14A 140466 N384RV - Phase 1 Complete
RV-10 40253 N253RV Sold
Douglas, GA. 2021 Contributor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2022, 05:31 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 1,021
Default

I had a similarly hard time with compass calibration of the SV-ADAHRS on my 5400. Thirty seconds on the phone with Rob and he pointed out that my canopy had to be closed.

Point being…call Rob, Shawn, or Jonathon.
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2022, 06:57 PM
N402RH's Avatar
N402RH N402RH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrys View Post
We are building an RV14A and it is ready to go, signed off by the FAA, ready to test fly and we can't get the 2 - AFS 5000 series panels, ACM (red block with internal breaker), Avidine, single ADAHAR, and 2 GPS to work together.

The GPS #2 is only reading through the passenger panel and the left seat will not register a GPS, but the avidine reads the GPS #1 just fine

Second we have tried 3 times now to work through the ADAHAR magnetometer calibration but you check north and the next step is not available from the instructions. And "mag cal" is grayed out. We have tried many times now.

We even paid to have Advanced Flight Systems "build, pre-assemble and test" the panel

Frustrated as ****

Hopefully the brain trust would have some steps to troubleshoot the system
Thanks, Larry


I believe most of the RV world have my email and I normally answer it 7 days a week.

1. Make sure the EFIS screens are in the correct location and you did not swap the PFD and MFD. The CHECK > ABOUT page should show IP Address: 192.168.0.175 on the pilots side and 176 on the co pilot side.

1. The EFIS screens will not do a mag align unless you have a valid gps lock on both screens. Mag cal must be done on the pilot PFD EFIS.

2. Make sure you have the Ethernet cable connected to both EFIS screens.

3. GPS2 (Dynon 250) is wired on a serial port to the copilot EFIS and data is then sent to the PFD on Ethernet.

4. When you press CDI on the PFD and select GNAV1 you should be using the Avidyne. When power is first applied to the Avidyne you get a warning screen, this is the test page and you should get a half left CDI, glide slope and waypoint of Avidyne on both EFIS screens.

5. When you press CHECK > ABOUT and select the NAVSRC tab and GPS2 on the copilot screen you should get a satellite page on the EFIS that should display the data from the Dynon GPS250.

Email me your phone number and a time when you will be at the plane so I can call you.

Rob@Advanced-Flight-Systems.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2022, 04:23 AM
larrys larrys is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 221
Default Fixed!

It only took Advanced Flight Systems Minutes to figure out the configuration was a port issue. And it needed a couple adjustments.
"Clear Prop" !
Thanks, Advanced Flight Systems
__________________

RV-14 tail, First flight Feb 22'
Grateful to pay dues 21'

[/size]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2022, 07:12 AM
olyolson's Avatar
olyolson olyolson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,172
Default AFS once again Rocks

And that right there is why I love my AFS gear- in less than 24 hours Larry has an answer to fix the issue. Customer support should be a consideration when you pay big bucks for new Avionics. Sure Garmin & Dynon make good Avionics but are not in the same league for customer support. I know Walt Aronow only does Garmin panels and I’ve flown one of the RV-8s he’s done and it’s a great setup.

But for those still deciding on Avionics, Advanced Flight Systems should be in the running.
__________________
RV-8, Aerosport IO-360, MT 3 blade, AFS 5500
RV grin every flight
"Sure is nice to have smart friends"

Update from Ukrainian RV-6 owner Alex
http://www.rv8.ch/help-people-in-ukraine/

Last edited by olyolson : 02-01-2022 at 07:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2022, 08:50 AM
Bill Boyd's Avatar
Bill Boyd Bill Boyd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Landing field "12VA"
Posts: 1,860
Default

There is a very natural tendency to cheerlead for your own team after dropping scores of AMU's on your chosen avionics suite, and I am not immune. This certainly affirms, to me, the wisdom of my decision to go with AFS gear. The customer service is top-notch.

The sole advantage I see to Garmin is the widespread support it enjoys in flight sims and flight schools. I am about to find out what kinks await as I seek instrument training in my AFS/Avidyne-equipped plane, but at the end of the day I expect it all to be worthwhile. Along the way the Garmin-equipped experimental fliers probably enjoy a home-field advantage in terms of instructor and examiner comfort with the avionics.
__________________
Bill Boyd

Hop-Along Aerodrome (12VA)
RV-6A - N30YD - Built '98 / sold '20
RV-10 - N130YD - 50 hours +
65 years running stock DNA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2022, 10:18 AM
Crash's Avatar
Crash Crash is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Decatur, TX
Posts: 71
Default AFS

And that is another reason why AFS is top-notch. The service you receive. Itís what they do.
__________________
Mike & Becky
RV-10 - N260MG
Decatur, TX (KLUD)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.