- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 09-16-2009, 10:23 PM

Default new guy with questions

I'm new to aviation and am looking for a kit plane to start building in the next year or so. I have done some preliminary research and like the RV7, among others. I'm very green at this, so please excuse the dumb questions.

1) One of the main roles of a plane for me would be to make frequent trips to my hunting land, which is 250 straight miles away. I would like to be able to land on a grass runway, which is yet to be constructed, but could be about 900 feet long. Is that long enough for an RV7 to land and take off comfortably? Even more important, would it have to be kept in pristine condition, or can the RV7 land if the grass gets a little high and there are a few mole holes that emerge between trips over there. I know a bush plane would be ideal for landing, but I want to travel faster than what most bush planes can do.

2) I did the cost estimator on the website and cost comes out to be 70k and up. Does that sound right? I had hoped to get it lower, but don't want to skimp too much on components.

3) Is the quick build kit worth the extra 10k? How much time does that save me in construction? For that matter, what is a good estimate on RV7 build time for a person that has good aptitude for building things?
Old 09-16-2009, 11:14 PM
Senior Curmudgeon

Default Welcome to VAF!!!!

Mark, welcome aboard the good ship VAF

Good to have you.

900' should be fine for the aircraft-----unless it is up high in the mountains, or someplace where the temps are way high, or some of each.

You state you are "new to aviation"-------your own skill level will probably end up being the limiting factor on the use of a short strip.

A 7, with a IO360 and constant speed prop should do a good job for your needs.

If you havent already done so, I urge you to join a local chapter of the EAA