VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2015, 01:46 AM
rv6ehguy rv6ehguy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 196
Default Is an electric primer needed for a fuel injection?

Good evening fellow RVators,
I am just planning the switches I will need for my panel build. A while back, someone told me that I would not require an electric primer for my fuel injected engine. Can someone with more knowledge than myself verify this?
Cheers.
John Van Lieshout
wz_bang@hotmail.com wz(underscore)bang(at)hotmail(dot)com
RV6A 85%
Aerosport IO-375
G3X 3 screen
C-FMYM (reserved)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2015, 06:46 AM
DanH's Avatar
DanH DanH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 08A
Posts: 9,809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rv6ehguy View Post
A while back, someone told me that I would not require an electric primer for my fuel injected engine.
Correct, not needed.
__________________
Dan Horton
RV-8 SS
Barrett IO-390
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2015, 06:49 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,683
Default

That's right. The fuel injection itself like serve the use of the primer. By running the boost pump you will dump fuel in the same ports as the primer would.
__________________
Jesse Saint
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2015, 07:50 AM
cajunwings cajunwings is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: new iberia la
Posts: 816
Default Primer

Just to be clear. If you have a fuel injection system which includes the electric boost pump a separate primer system is not needed or required. All cold or hot start priming is done with the boost pump.



Don B

RV 9 Rebuild in Progress
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2015, 07:55 AM
Larco's Avatar
Larco Larco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DVT Phoenix
Posts: 1,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cajunwings View Post
Just to be clear. If you have a fuel injection system which includes the electric boost pump a separate primer system is not needed or required. All cold or hot start priming is done with the boost pump.



Don B

RV 9 Rebuild in Progress
That is correct
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2015, 07:56 AM
ka6dan ka6dan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dunnellon Fl
Posts: 175
Default

Only use the aux fuel pump to prime then shut it off and proceed with the recommended starting procedure.
__________________
Ka6dan
RV9A
Phase I @ X35 is complete
Paid My 2021 dues. 😃
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2015, 10:17 PM
rv6ehguy rv6ehguy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 196
Default thanks

Thank you everyone for your quick replies to my question. This place is a mountain of information. Cheers.
John Van Lieshout
wz_bang@hotmail.com wz(underscore)bang(at)hotmail(dot)com
RV6A 85%
Aerosport IO-375
G3X 3 screen
C-FMYM (reserved)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2015, 09:44 PM
flybudy flybudy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: S. Porcupine, ON, Canada
Posts: 3
Default primer for fuel injected engine

There is one situation where you do need a primer with a fuel injected engine: if your battery is dead and you need to get home you can start it by hand-bombing IF you have a mechanical, hand operated primer (not electric). If you do not have a primer, you can not get it started. I was going to put one in my -8 but decided not to because usually there is someone around to give you a boost. If you land on remote strips it could be a problem.

MAL RATCLIFF

Last edited by flybudy : 11-26-2015 at 09:48 PM. Reason: add my name
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-26-2015, 11:40 PM
Mark C. Mark C. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Schaumburg
Posts: 119
Default

To expand on using a "boost" electric pump for an I/O engine. To start 2 or 3 seconds "on" boost pump to prime I/O system, turn off.. Start engine. Switching tanks in flight, boost pump on until switch completed, then off. While on final to land boost pump on until landing completed. Would this be a correct procedure?? Mark C.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2015, 07:28 AM
N395V's Avatar
N395V N395V is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mendon South Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Default

As long as you are in the planning stage it is helpful to add 1 or 2 switches and or breakers and call them "Spare"
__________________



Milt Concannon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.