VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 09-15-2021, 11:41 AM
cderk's Avatar
cderk cderk is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 794
Default GoPro Audio

has anyone successfully plugged in a new GoPro9, using their 3.5mm mic adapter into the USB jack, connecting to your ships headphone jacks and having audio be loud enough to hear? For some reason I have to really crank up volume in post-processing.

Thanks
Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2021, 01:54 PM
Utah-Jay Utah-Jay is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Heber City
Posts: 24
Default

Mine works great, but I have found that you get less “noise” if you use an external battery (GoPro batteries don’t last long) as opposed to ship power which tends to add a humming noise as referenced in quotation marks.

I got my radio cable for the Hero Black 8/9 from FlightFlix, I think a $129
__________________
Bearhawk Companion QB Builder
Revo Sunglasses Ambassador
https://www.instagram.com/jay_townsend_utah/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQ0...tBJLdV8HB_jSIA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2021, 02:04 PM
gfb gfb is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 785
Default

I use the FlightFlix cable and it works fine. Quick heads-up: don't trust the GoPro with any videos you really care about, they are really flakey.
__________________
---
RV-9A - started 01/2015, completed 07/19/2018, 500hrs 03/14/2020
RV-10 - started 04/2020
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2021, 04:17 AM
cderk's Avatar
cderk cderk is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 794
Default

Hmmm… interesting. My audio is very low. Maybe the adapter i have to convert to USB to 3.5mm, which is a gopro brand, is bad. Ive tried the various microphone settings and nothing seems to resolve the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2021, 08:07 AM
michjor michjor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Duluth
Posts: 15
Default

I was losing audio when the camera battery ran out, overheated and shutdown or the cable came lose. If you are using multiple cameras it changed the ambient sound too. Instead I record voice audio on it's own device using the below. Just need to sync with cameras before you taxi by clapping hands to align the sound curves in the video editing program. This setup I have never lost any voice audio ever.

I use this cable plugged into my headset and mic port on the panel
NFlightCam Audio Recording Cable for Smartphones - https://www.nflightcam.com/products/...ne-audio-cable

It gets recorded on the Tascam DR-10L Portable Digital Audio Recorder - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.