What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Should I build an RV?

douglassmt

Well Known Member
I hesitate to even write this as it might be taken by some as sacrilege, but having perused these forums for the last few months, I think you can handle it. Perhaps even relish it (we'll see). I am a new private pilot (48 yrs old) with around 130 hours total time, in the process of instrument training (goal - 1st quarter 2009). I have looked at the options for renting, buying commercial built, building exp., and am VERY intrigued with the experimental route. I have toured the factory and flown in the 260hp prototype. I am an engineer so I am not at all intimidated by the project but tend to analyze things in great detail to minimize surprises. However, in trying to make my decision, I have yet to run across a comprehensive comparison of 4-seat airplanes, including the RV-10. I have tried to do it on my own, but it seems like it should be out there somewhere. I'm pretty sure any reasonable person who has looked at building has done the same thing. I would like to compare all performance and specs of the RV-10 with a 182, Cirrus, 206, etc. - including cost to buy or build. I'm interested in cruise speeds w/approx. fuel burn, landing distances, ceilings, climb rates, useful load. I have dimensions off the various websites, but some are stingy with the greater details I want.

My first question is:
Does anyone know of a credible comparison of this sort? I think it is a reasonable question to compare performances in detail rather than just say it will make you "grin." (although it did!)

My second question is:
Assuming it takes me a couple years to build my RV-10, is it a good airplane for me when I should have at least 200 hours by then and an instrument rating.

Your thoughts appreciated.

signed -
Bryan
(Very impressed with everything RV, but not yet an acolyte)

More