- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 02-27-2021, 05:13 PM

Question -7A vs -9A for Low Time Pilots

After lots of research, thought, discussion with my wife, and the oh so important input from VAF, we have narrowed it down to the -7A or -9A. I understand there is not too much of a difference other than aero and non-aero, engine specs, and wing dynamics. Our mission is weekend fun, short cross countries (with the exception to a few long XC to FL and SC). Aerobatics is low on my list but want the option to be there. However, as a low time pilot my question is.. is the -9A that much more stable than the -7A? The plane will have IFR panel but will not be primarily used in IMC. Some will say the -9A is an easier transition for us 172 pilots. Any truth to this? My heart is set on the -7A but do want what’s best for my low time transition.

Last edited by coopGT : 02-27-2021 at 05:37 PM. Reason: Edit title
Old 02-27-2021, 05:19 PM

Exclamation W&B added question

Also, any W&B differences? Vans site claims -7A full fuel and 2 passengers, how about the -9A? I know it depends a lot on what’s is added etc but just a general consensus.
Old 02-27-2021, 05:38 PM

The -9A is very stable, nice IFR platform, flies high and fast, fun to fly, easy to land, but it's absolutely non-aerobatic. Some have remarked that the -7A is ..."twitchy" by comparison. I don't think that's exactly true, but I do know that it's hard to make a bad landing with the -9A, whereas on landing, when the -7A decides to stop flying...it pretty much stops right now.