VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 03-11-2021, 05:17 PM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: 50-50 Wichita KS & Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 565
Default ? About wiring

Hey all-

How much 5 conductor trim wire do I need to order to do the runs for both aileron and elevator trim in the RV7?

Iím getting ready to flip the canoe and looking ahead so I donít end up dead in the water waiting for the UPS truck.
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing done
Fuselage in process
#72651
https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blprojec...t=all&listcat=
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2021, 06:52 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 2,943
Default

Four #22 conductor shielded wire is preferred as it is more durable. Use the shield as the ground wire.

As far as how much, just buy a 100í roll from Stein as you will use it for other stuff like headphone jacks and serial cables.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2021, 08:43 AM
Charles in SC Charles in SC is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 726
Default

I needed some more so I took a piece of it to my local electronics supply house and showed it to them. They had it in stock so I got what I needed from them. I do not know what resources you have close by but you might ask around.
__________________
RV 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2021, 08:47 AM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: 50-50 Wichita KS & Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 565
Default

Thanks for the info guys
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing done
Fuselage in process
#72651
https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blprojec...t=all&listcat=
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2021, 09:02 AM
RV10Pilot RV10Pilot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Posts: 380
Default

It is my preference to run a 3 conductor and a 2 conductor shielded wire from the trim servo. The 2 conductor to the white power wires and the 3 conductor for the position sensing since they end up going to different places, switch or relay and indicator or ems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.