VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:41 AM
dan carley dan carley is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 674
Default oil pressure light

i'd like to install a low oil pressure light in my rv. can one be made or is there a kit you can buy? where would you get one?

thanks
dan carley
RV-4
N14FT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:28 AM
L.Adamson's Avatar
L.Adamson L.Adamson is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: KSLC
Posts: 4,021
Default

My oil pressure light is a amber colored 12volt LED; with built in resistor from Radio Shack. It's activated by a oil pressure switch that's available from Vans. The pressure switch also activates the Hobbs meter.

http://www.vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/...ct=isspro-hour

L.Adamson --- RV6A
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:30 AM
pierre smith's Avatar
pierre smith pierre smith is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Louisville, Ga
Posts: 7,908
Default It's easy, Dan...

.....to simply tee into the oil pressure sending line and install a cheap pressure switch that's normally closed and wire the light to it.

Regards,
__________________
Rv10 Sold
46 years ag pilot/CFI
Air Tractor 502/PT-6
Building RV-12, Wings, fuse, emp complete. FWF in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2009, 07:30 AM
noelf noelf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cary, N.C.
Posts: 1,251
Default The Aeroelectric Connection...

...web site has a drawing and parts list for just that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2009, 07:56 AM
Sam Buchanan's Avatar
Sam Buchanan Sam Buchanan is offline
been here awhile
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan carley View Post
i'd like to install a low oil pressure light in my rv. can one be made or is there a kit you can buy? where would you get one?

thanks
dan carley
RV-4
N14FT
Here is the whole kit for $16.00:

http://www.speedwaymotors.com/Warnin...-Kits,897.html

I have this setup on my RV-6. Whenever I get around to it I might change out the switch for a "15 lb" switch that will turn on the light earlier:

http://store.summitracing.com/egnsea...17507&D=317507

The main reason I installed the warning light was so it would serve as a "Turn Off the Master You Idiot-Light".
__________________
Sam Buchanan
RV-6
Fokker D.VII replica
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:07 AM
captainron's Avatar
captainron captainron is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 837
Default

Just make sure you support all this stuff to protect from vibration. To just keep adding nipples, tees, sending units, etc. from the oil pressure port on the engine is a sure way to insure that your light WILL come on!
.................................................. ..............

Guess I should modify that: If the sending unit breaks away from its grounding source, you'll still lose all your oil, but you won't have to stare at the light!
__________________
Ron Leach
RV-7 N713CM reserved VAF # 603
Cincinnati
__________________________________________

"Wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then".
.....Bob Seger

Last edited by captainron : 03-15-2009 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:30 AM
CNEJR CNEJR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 517
Default

I used a "Low Oil Sensor" which fits into the sump, it comes on if the engine falls to 4 qts. of oil. I thought an early indication of loss of oil would be more important than waiting for a light which showed imediate low oil pressure. Of course I do have an oil pressure indicator on my EIS/EFIS. Something to think about.
__________________
Chuck Elsey
RV6 Start 7/06- Flying!
N349CE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2009, 12:21 PM
Sam Buchanan's Avatar
Sam Buchanan Sam Buchanan is offline
been here awhile
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainron View Post
Just make sure you support all this stuff to protect from vibration. To just keep adding nipples, tees, sending units, etc. from the oil pressure port on the engine is a sure way to insure that your light WILL come on!
It should go without saying that sensors and switches should not be mounted on the engine. My oil pressure switch is teed off the pressure line at the remote sensor on the firewall. The firewall-mounted remote sensor manifolds that many builders are now using make it very simple to add the pressure switch.
__________________
Sam Buchanan
RV-6
Fokker D.VII replica
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2009, 07:21 PM
Steve Barnes Steve Barnes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 589
Default Bright Light

I installed a bright red light to let me know that I left my master on. All it is, is an oil pressure sensor. I never have left my master on, thanks to the bright light.

Steve Barnes the Builders Coach
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.