VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-10-2011, 12:59 PM
mrbill mrbill is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 4
Default Discontinue Garmin 495/496 ?

General Aviation News had a short article announcing the end of the Garmin 495/496 production, I later confirmed this on the Garmin website. What impact will this have on the RV12 finish/avionics kits?
Any speculation?
Mr. Bill
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 01:52 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

I would say little to none. The Aera can replace em quite easily.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 03:44 PM
vernhendershott vernhendershott is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spruce Creek, FL
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brantel View Post
I would say little to none. The Aera can replace em quite easily.
Yes that is true, if and only if, Van's makes the change to the plans and kit so that it is approved for the RV-12. We have seen this coming for some time and many have ask Van's for a replacement for the 496/495 so that we would not have to buy an outdated unit that will in several years not be supported by Garmin in any way.

I hope that this gets some fire under Van's so that we can all have equipment that will not have to be disposed of in just a few years. If you look at the $ 2000 price and ir only is usable for four years then if cost $ 500 a year plus the cost of upgrades another $ 150 per year and then if you only fly 100 hours per year that is about $ 6.50 per hour or about half the price of gas per hour.

The Area has not been all that well received, I have not seen anyone who has one so hard to say if it would be a good replacement.

Best regards,
Vern
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2011, 04:19 PM
MacPara's Avatar
MacPara MacPara is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernhendershott View Post
Yes that is true, if and only if, Van's makes the
The Area has not been all that well received, I have not seen anyone who has one so hard to say if it would be a good replacement.
I bought one when the unit was brand new, which I usually don't do. It had a SW bug that caused it to switch itself off during flight when passing a user defined POI. This issue got fixed with the first SW update about 7 days later and since then I just love this unit. I have the aera 500 and I am swept off my feet by its functionality, ease of use with the touchscreen and the bright, crisp display.
I am very certain that no-one will miss the 496 when it gets replaced by the aera 560. Since I committed to build the RV-12 I was hoping I wouldn't have to buy the 496 as part of the avionics kit and if so, already had plans to immediately replace it with my existing aera 500 or upgrade to an aera560 right after certification. Now it seems I don't have to go through this and can expect this to be in the avionics kit by the time I get to it later this year.
__________________
RV-12: #120374, ELSA, N128TL flying since Nov 28, 2013 (Phase 1 completed 1/26/14)
SkyView, Light Package, ADSB
http://torstensrv-12.blogspot.com/
APRS Track
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:24 PM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,767
Default

Does the Aera respond to touch inputs if the user is wearing gloves?
__________________

Please don't PM me! Email only!

Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N9187P PA-24-260B Comanche, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:33 PM
Mel's Avatar
Mel Mel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 11,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketbob View Post
Does the Aera respond to touch inputs if the user is wearing gloves?
If the Aera uses the same technology as the Nuvi, (and I think it does) then yes. It is actually not a "touch" screen. You have to "press" it.
__________________
Mel Asberry, DAR since the last century. Over 1,000 certifications accomplished. Discount for Veterans, Law Enforcement, Fire Fighters.
EAA Flight Advisor/Tech Counselor, Friend of the RV-1
Recipient of Tony Bingelis Award and Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award
USAF Vet, High School E-LSA Project Mentor.
RV-6 Flying since 1993 (sold)
<rvmel(at)icloud.com>
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:34 PM
Bevan Bevan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BC
Posts: 1,718
Default Gloves

I would think that Garmin uses the same touch screen as their popular 255W series which I have, cause physically they look the same. I use the 255W on a motorbike (Ram mount) with gloves and while it is doable for the basic functions, I would not be able to enter an address because the "virtual" keyboard keys are too small for a gloved hand.

Maybe a thin aviation grade glove would be better than my motorbike glove.

You can always take one glove off temporarily. Not so easy on the bike...

Bevan

Do not archive
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2011, 06:33 PM
DonFromTX's Avatar
DonFromTX DonFromTX is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: La Feria Texas
Posts: 3,823
Default

If I did not misunderstand, I thought the 496 was somehow connected to the nav/com so that selecting an airport on the GPS would bring up that freq on the radio. Would the other gps options do that as well?
__________________
A&P, PP-SEL, Pathological Flier, EAA Technical Counselor
EAA Chapter 595 President,http://www.595.eaachapter.org/index.htm
Retired US Army Officer
RV12 built and flying
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2011, 06:50 PM
Tony_T's Avatar
Tony_T Tony_T is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lacey, WA
Posts: 1,433
Default Likely so...

Next generation equipment is likely to increase functionality, not reduce it.

How it works on the 496 series:
Select the airport on the active GOTO page and press Enter,
Highlight the Comm tab, all the available airport frequecies will be shown,
Highlight the frequency you want and press Enter,
the frequency appears in the standby window of the SL40 com radio,
hit <--> to activate it.

It might even be simpler on the new equipment.

Tony
__________________
Tony
E-LSA RV-12 ULS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2011, 06:51 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

Yes it does...
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.