VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 11-04-2021, 08:38 AM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 204
Default Oil pressure sending unit

I've been replacing the Honywell units about once a year or less due to erractic readings, I have even installed the bullet type pressure regulator to help stabilize the pressure, also installed a remote mounted system to take it off the engine and mount it to the firewall using a cushsioned Adel clamp. The carbs are well synced and prop is balanced...is there an alternative to the Honywell unit? I have the D-180 system...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2021, 11:03 PM
RFSchaller RFSchaller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,165
Default

Bob, how much is erratic? I have the D180/Honeywell combo, but my sensor is mounted directly on the engine. Iím on my third sensor in 1200 hours. My readings bounce around +/- 5-10 psi.

As an aside I have had two fuel pressure sensor lines fail in my Cherokee. Iíd rather replace failed sensors from vibrations than have another sensor line break. The last me resulted in me making a landing with 1.2 useable gallons of fuel left after pumping $150 of AVGAS into my engine compartment. That sensor is now attached directly to the engine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2021, 08:01 AM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 204
Default

My pressure fluctuates from 0-70 (about) and its wild...after replacing senser all is good for usually a year or 50-70 hours, I've got a different type from Lockwood, we'll see how long it lasts...oil temp stays steady no problems with it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2021, 08:42 AM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 2,566
Default

Pressure sensors are usually a diaphragm with a resistance strain gage which is susceptible to damage from shock, vibration, rough handling. Best practice is to mount remote so engine doesnít shake unit. I have both oil and fuel pressure sensors mounted on firewall using Teflon fire sleave hose. Both sensors now have 750TT with no failures...
__________________
-
Jim Stricker - EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
Bought Flying RV-12 #120058 Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 750

LSRM-A Certificate 2016 for RV-12 N633CM
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - USN Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
MJ Stricker (Father - CFI) - USAAF 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2021, 07:06 AM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 204
Default

Thats what I did, I got a remote kit and mounted to firewall, I just can't get the Honeywell units to last very long, I even changed the regulator to the bullet type. It all worked well for a few months 20-30 hours? I'll double check the crimps...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2021, 11:37 AM
ChuckC ChuckC is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Meridian, ID
Posts: 80
Default

I too had problems with the original oil pressure sensor. Here is my logbook entry that solved the problem:

Replaced inoperable Oil Pressure Sensor, Honeywell MLH010BSCDJ 1231, Rotax part number 956 413, with Oil Pressure Sensor BRP Rotax Part Number 456 180 and with Oil Pressure Sensor Wire Assy BRP Rotax part number 864 250 in accordance with Rotax Service Instruction Running Modifications on Rotax Engine Type 912, SI-912-020R8, Section 79-00-00 dated December 19th 2014.

Ever since my oil pressure has been steady as a rock.
__________________
Chuck Carlson
120445
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2021, 07:34 AM
JBPILOT JBPILOT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jesup, Iowa
Posts: 1,678
Default My experience - -

I remote mounted the Honeywell to the large coolant hose years ago. Closing in on 1,500 hours. Still have original sender. I have a serious restriction port to stop fluctuations. Has worked well ever since. Just zip tied it to the large coolant hose.
__________________
John Bender
Flying RV-12 - Serial #120036
Paid in May ( 5-2021 )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2021, 07:44 AM
Waiex-guy Waiex-guy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rocky Point, NY
Posts: 57
Default Engine mount mounting?

Planning to remote mount oil pressure sender to motor mount with adel clamps, SS braided hose to that. Keep hearing about firewall remote mounting, is motor mount also acceptable?

Gordon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2021, 08:10 AM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 204
Default

I did the remote mount to the firewall like the fuel pressure is done...found the problem, a loose wire crimp.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.