VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 08-01-2020, 12:31 PM
riobison riobison is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oliver BC & Red Deer Alberta Canada
Posts: 380
Default Area 660, no updates? No Charts for Canada?

Gents,

I have just picked up my Brand New Area 660. Nice and bright so a big improvement over my Area 500.

Now looking for En-Route Charts for Southern BC and Central Alberta there is nothing. The screen is Black. It does show my track line. I can see the US charts but nothing for Canada

So I have tried to down load updates over my Wi Fi and it says none available. Set up there was easy enough.

Then I have gone through my Windows on my computer to up date and that doesnít appear to be operating 100% correctly and also says there are no updates.

So am I missing something? Even new are these GPSís 100% fully up to date? There are no Charts for Canada?

Iíve tried Garminís web site and help line and still nothing back.

Thanks
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2020, 05:13 PM
Plummit's Avatar
Plummit Plummit is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,270
Default

I can't answer about CA charts but Garmin recently had a problem with ransom-ware so they may not be fully back up yet.

-Marc
__________________
RV-10
N814RV
2021 Donation Made
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2020, 08:03 AM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 196
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by riobison View Post
Gents,

I have just picked up my Brand New Area 660. Nice and bright so a big improvement over my Area 500.

Now looking for En-Route Charts for Southern BC and Central Alberta there is nothing. The screen is Black. It does show my track line. I can see the US charts but nothing for Canada

So I have tried to down load updates over my Wi Fi and it says none available. Set up there was easy enough.

Then I have gone through my Windows on my computer to up date and that doesnít appear to be operating 100% correctly and also says there are no updates.

So am I missing something? Even new are these GPSís 100% fully up to date? There are no Charts for Canada?

Iíve tried Garminís web site and help line and still nothing back.

Thanks
Tim
Hello Tim,

Quote:
So am I missing something? Even new are these GPSís 100% fully up to date? There are no Charts for Canada?
This lack of understanding is probably the core of the problem. Garmin manufactures the Aera 660 and loads a base set of U.S. databases just so the unit will operate when powered up. Depending on how long the unit was on shelves before sold, these databases can be weeks to months old.

Garmin ships a free database coupon with every Aera 660 that allows you to go onto FlyGarmin.com, create a user account (if you don't already have one), add the new Aera 660 as a Device, and purchase a full set of databases, at no cost, which are specific to your part of the world.

When you choose and purchase the databases, you are given the opportunity to enter the coupon code which makes the databases free to you.

There are certainly IFR/VFR charts for Canada, and you will be able to choose these when you go through the above process.

Click image for larger version

Name:	CanadaCharts.png
Views:	53
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	709

Once you have completed this process, your new Canada specific databases will be available to download over WiFi onto the Aera 660.

Here is a video that might help. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mP6DRvJ3d3g

Steve

Last edited by Longez : 08-02-2020 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2020, 09:44 AM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sidney, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,136
Default

Note that you can have Canadian charts loaded, or US charts loaded, but not both at the same time. Charts as in VTA/VNC/Sectional/Terminal. While you're in the "trial" period you can download both but downloading one will delete the other... Be sure you end up with the Canadian ones before the trial period expires.
__________________
Rob Prior
1996 RV-6 "Tweety" C-FRBP (formerly N196RV)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2020, 09:56 AM
riobison riobison is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oliver BC & Red Deer Alberta Canada
Posts: 380
Default Garmin or Jeppesen Data Base

I see where i went wrong. Ok, now more confusion. Do I want Jeppesen or Garmin Data bases for here in Canada?

Thanks

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2020, 12:30 PM
riobison riobison is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oliver BC & Red Deer Alberta Canada
Posts: 380
Default

Wow, what a process. The down load via Wi Fi didn't work. Went with Garmin and figured out what was best for what and where I fly.

None of it was simple, quick nor was it easy. Any way its all on my 660.

Good thing the GPS to operate is intuitive as the rest of it wasn't.

Tim
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.