VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12/RV-12iS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2022, 05:27 PM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 2,757
Default Question About Pitot / Static Testing for Transponder Certification

I'm helping a friend with his RV-12 Annual Condition Inspection. The Transponder will need re-certification when we are finished. The plane has dual Dynon HDX and Angle of Attack. Pitot, Static and AOA all connect to the ADHRS behind the baggage bulkhead. My question… when performing the pitot / static leakage test, does the AOA need to be blocked off? Would there be a significant leak if the AOA was left open?
__________________
-
Jim Stricker - EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
Bought Flying RV-12 #120058 Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 790

LSRM-A Certificate 2016 for RV-12 N633CM
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - USN Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
MJ Stricker (Father - CFI) - USAAF 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2022, 05:49 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 6,716
Default

A static leak check is done independently of pitot or AOA.
None of the systems are interconnected.
PS: there is no requirement to do the P-S system to just check the transponder.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 2000+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags, MTV-9 prop
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154

Last edited by Walt : 03-21-2022 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2022, 06:23 PM
Bob Y Bob Y is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Piedmont, SC
Posts: 385
Default

Here’s the KAI section showing the Dynon ADAHRS. You can see that the AOA, pitot and static lines are all independent of each other, so no cross venting. And I have never been able to get a good enough seal on my AOA port to perform a leak test of that line.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	898A6913-1F7F-4432-A7B0-9EA3728EDA52.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	293.4 KB
ID:	23689  
__________________
Bob Y - builder 12iS E-LSA
N569TT first flight 2/9/2020
#121047
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2022, 07:55 PM
Tony Kirk's Avatar
Tony Kirk Tony Kirk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: KDUH
Posts: 111
Default

Also, be aware that Dynon wants you to use the Pitot/Static test mode when testing the P/S system so you don't mess up the ADAHRS calibration.

A lot of people don't read deep enough into the Installation Manual to find information like this.

https://dynonavionics.com/includes/g...Rev_AJ_v16.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynon_PS.PNG
Views:	107
Size:	113.9 KB
ID:	23696  
__________________
Opinions, information and comments are my own unless stated otherwise.
They do not necessarily represent the direction/opinions of my employer.


Tony Kirk
Van's Aircraft Tech Support (working from home)
RV-7 N777RV, AirVenture 2022 Kitbuilt Bronze Lindy Winner!
RV-6A N57TK, first flight 9/5/05...
Sold in 2011 after 725 hours of pure joy!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2022, 07:26 PM
dbenoit dbenoit is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: CALLAHAN
Posts: 9
Default

Tony,

Thanks for the advice. I need to have mine tested next week. The only avionics shop are is a Garmin dealer and has a disdain for Dynon. I love my HDX! Will make sure that they are aware prior to commencing the test.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2022, 08:48 PM
RV8JD RV8JD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 462
Default

Also, the Dynon Transponder checks require manual switching to ALT and GND mode.

__________________
Carl N.
RV-8
KAWO
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2022, 10:40 PM
RFSchaller RFSchaller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,296
Default

For a VFR check there is no need to simulate altitudes with a pressure/vacuum source. Does he really need an IFR cert?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.