VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 06-02-2019, 12:28 PM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 934
Default Artificial Horizon on G3x MFD?

Is it possible to display the artificial horizon on the mfd of a two-screen G3x system when two pilots are flying? I understand it will display on the mfd if the pfd fails.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2019, 12:42 PM
Ian Coates Ian Coates is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Derbyshire UK
Posts: 50
Default

The G3X can be set up for split screen mode on the MFD to show the PFD also.

The settings are in the installation manual.
__________________
VAF Donation 2020
RV7 Built and Flying
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2019, 01:15 PM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 934
Default

I am assuming it is possible, but I have searched both the installation and operation manuals without success. Does anyone have a page or section reference to help me find it? Thanks in advance.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2019, 09:22 AM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 934
Default

Figured it out with help from a friend: You set up the artificial horizon display on the MFD using the MFD. Was trying to do it from the PFD . . . Doh! I guess everyone else already knew this.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2019, 01:43 PM
Ed_Wischmeyer's Avatar
Ed_Wischmeyer Ed_Wischmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,719
Default

You can also jumper the second screen so that you have two PFDs... It's buried in the installation manual somewhere. The advantage of doing this is that you can have two full screen PFDs.

And as mentioned, you can set up the MFD so that in split screen, one half is PFD. That's what I've got now, with the jumper solution to come.
__________________
RV-9A at KSAV (Savannah, GA; dual G3X Touch with autopilot, GTN650, GTX330ES, GDL52 ADSB-In)
Previously RV-4, RV-8, RV-8A, AirCam, Cessna 175
ATP CFII PhD, so I have no excuses when I screw up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2019, 02:48 PM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 934
Default

Thanks, Ed. I will look for that.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2019, 05:50 PM
rjtjrt rjtjrt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Wischmeyer View Post
You can also jumper the second screen so that you have two PFDs... It's buried in the installation manual somewhere. The advantage of doing this is that you can have two full screen PFDs.

......
If and when anyone finds the section in Installation Manual, could they kindly post it?
I can never find anything in those manuals. I will look as well and post iypt if I can find it.

Also, can anyone think of any disadvantage to doing this jumper reconfiguration?

PS If we post the Section rather tan page number, it will be easier to find in future revisions of manual, as page number changes.

Last edited by rjtjrt : 06-18-2019 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2019, 05:16 AM
Jasonm Jasonm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: KAVL
Posts: 327
Default

Maybe you can wire the manual reversion switch to pin 25 on your MFD. It just goes from open to ground using a two pole switch. That way you can make your MFD a PFD at will.
__________________
Jason McKay
RV-10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2019, 03:36 PM
LNSelf LNSelf is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gardner, Ks
Posts: 98
Default

As mentioned above, you can wire a switch to connect the reversion input on the display to ground which will force it to show all primary data all the time (PFD and EIS).

Alternately, you can setup the MFD to show a PFD window. To do this, on the MFD, select Menu, Menu, Setup, Display.

On a GDU 470, set Full PFD/MFD Toggle to "Enabled"
On a GDU 460, set MFD Split Screen Page to "PFD"

To show the PFD on the GDU 470, press the PFD button on the top corner of the display.
To show the PFD on the GDU 460, press the SPLIT button on the top corner of the display

Thanks,
Levi
__________________
Levi Self
Owner/Installer at Midwest Avionics
Flying RV-6a
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.