VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 06-28-2010, 09:01 AM
vmirv8bldr's Avatar
vmirv8bldr vmirv8bldr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Eastvale, CA
Posts: 378
Default Tach from EI and Mag?

I have a Lightspped EI and a single mag setup, and am using a GRT EIS4000 for engine monitoring. Is it possible to get RPM from BOTH sources so that in the event one fails, or is switched off for any reason (runup) you can still see RPMs?

Thanks,
Bart
__________________
Bart Filipiak
Eastvale, CA
RV-8 N74VB

Barrett IO-390
WW200RV
FLYING!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2010, 09:39 AM
caryr's Avatar
caryr caryr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northwest georgia
Posts: 318
Default

I have the same setup

I just tolerate the 10 seconds that I don't have a rpm reading at run-up.

You're not going to take off with an electrical failure with half of the ignition system if the EI is out.

And

If it quit in flight and you had to find home on the ground with the mag only, I doubt knowing the exact rpm would be much of an issue.
__________________
Cary Rhodes
Taylorsville, Georgia
N203CR
Van's RV-7
First Flight April 2004

Last edited by caryr : 06-28-2010 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2010, 10:04 AM
jclark jclark is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 804
Default Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vmirv8bldr View Post
I have a Lightspped EI and a single mag setup, and am using a GRT EIS4000 for engine monitoring. Is it possible to get RPM from BOTH sources so that in the event one fails, or is switched off for any reason (runup) you can still see RPMs?

Thanks,
Bart
There is an update to the EIS that you can purchase that among other things handles two ignition systems.

I did it and it worked as advertised using a mag and a P-mag (EI).

Call Sandy at GRT and she will make it happen.

James
__________________
James E. Clark
Columbia, SC
RV6 Flying, RV6A Cowling
APRS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2010, 06:59 AM
G3i Ignition's Avatar
G3i Ignition G3i Ignition is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 182
Default Tach Pick up

Here another type of isolated tach pick-up that works well to signal your EFIS that is not affected by Mag or EI swithing or pulse count differences.
Aircraft Spruce link. http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalo...endingUnit.php

Thomas S.
www.g3ignition.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2010, 08:28 AM
Alan Carroll's Avatar
Alan Carroll Alan Carroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 778
Default

You can also wire a switch to change tach inputs. I usually leave it set to the mag input, because the RPM drop when turning off the mag is minimal. The Lightspeed produces twice as many pulses, which requires dividing by 2 to get the correct RPM number in my setup (I would only have to do this if the mag failed).
__________________
Alan Carroll
RV-8 N12AC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2010, 11:22 AM
Mathew Sharp's Avatar
Mathew Sharp Mathew Sharp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Electronics International Inc. offers a tach "R-1-4LM"

Utilizes both the EI square wave and a mag. It will show you mag drop, as well as an "outage" of either ignition source. FWIW.

Best to you,

Matt
__________________
Electronics International Inc.
Sales/Support
63296 Powell Butte Hwy
Bend, OR 97701
www.buy-ei.com
support@buy-ei.com
877-318-6060 Ext 113
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2010, 05:54 PM
vmirv8bldr's Avatar
vmirv8bldr vmirv8bldr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Eastvale, CA
Posts: 378
Default Latest EIS can do both

I got a note from Sandy indicating the latest version of the EIS can accommodate dual Tach inputs from different type sources. So you would not have to divide by two when switching from reading the LS vs Mag.

Bart
__________________
Bart Filipiak
Eastvale, CA
RV-8 N74VB

Barrett IO-390
WW200RV
FLYING!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-29-2010, 01:28 PM
B Cunningham's Avatar
B Cunningham B Cunningham is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 250
Default

James,
Can you post what your EIS settings you are using to make this work with the new modification? ie High/Low Pulses per Rev 1/2.... etc.
__________________
Ben Cunningham
RV7 N701VF
Bowman Field, Louisville, KY

Last edited by B Cunningham : 07-29-2010 at 01:28 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2010, 01:42 PM
RVbySDI's Avatar
RVbySDI RVbySDI is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tuttle, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jclark View Post
There is an update to the EIS that you can purchase that among other things handles two ignition systems.

I did it and it worked as advertised using a mag and a P-mag (EI).

Call Sandy at GRT and she will make it happen.

James
I have the same issue with my EIS. I talked with Sandy the week before Oshkosh. She told me about this upgrade. It cost $100. You ship your unit back to them, they make the upgrade and ship your unit back. She said there is a quick turn around. However, because of Oshkosh they will not be back into the shop until August 9th.

Allen mentions putting a switch to change the tach input. This would not work on the EIS 4000 unless you changed the pulse input setting for the tach each time you switched from EI to mag as they require different pulse inputs.
__________________
RVBYSDI
Steve
RV9A
https://rvwings.com

Live Long And Prosper! 🖖🏻
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:32 PM
Alan Carroll's Avatar
Alan Carroll Alan Carroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RVbySDI View Post
Allen mentions putting a switch to change the tach input. This would not work on the EIS 4000 unless you changed the pulse input setting for the tach each time you switched from EI to mag as they require different pulse inputs.
Actually it works fine, but with the pulse input set for a mag the EI setting on the switch causes the RPM to read too high by a factor of 2. Its not difficult to do the division. The switch really is just there to provide backup if the mag fails to provide a good signal. I generally don't use it to check RPM drop, because the drop with the mag switched off is much smaller than with EI switched off.

The upgrade to two-channel tach is definitely a better option if you're starting from scratch and don't mind spending a bit more (this wasn't available when I did mine).
__________________
Alan Carroll
RV-8 N12AC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.