VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-18-2020, 05:58 PM
xblueh2o xblueh2o is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SF East Bay
Posts: 859
Default

I am with Vic, my gut reaction is a configuration issue. Since the ADS-B was just installed did they "steal" the port to use for that?
__________________
Sam
RV-8 with the Showplanes Fastback conversion
Emp completed except for glass work
Wings completed except for bottom skin and glass work
Fuselage underway
N18451 reserved
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-18-2020, 06:03 PM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 4,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCool View Post
I appreciate the replies. My buddy has the plane right now trying to figure this out - he's much more knowledgeable about this stuff than I am. He's spent quite a bit of time on phone with both uAvionix and Rob at AFS, and this afternoon went through the cabling and connectors wire by wire. Pins and sockets are all good, continuity is good on all of them. He's of the opinion that the ARINC interface box is dead. He has a call in to AFS to find out how to check it, or replace it.

Any leads on a replacement for an ARINC box for a 430W to an AFS 4500 EFIS?
Rob doesn't have any in stock? With the 4500, you have to use the AFS Arinc box. The Dynon version only works with the 5000 series.

It's be so long, I don't remember all the 430 pages. on my GTN650, there is an ARINC debug page in which you can see the ARINC labels being transmitted. But I suspect if there was one, Rob would have mentioned it.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-18-2020, 06:38 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vic syracuse View Post
There's another potential problem. Your EFIS may have been using the RS-232 data line for the EFIS, and someone tapped into that line for the uavionics. But now the RS-232 is configured for ADSB+ OUT. It no longer works going to the EFIS. You have to use another serial line for either the EFIS or the uavioncis, but the same signal won't work for both.

We've seen this done already.

A quick check is to go into config mode on the 430 and look at the serial connections. One should be configured for Honeywell EFIS or something similar, depending upon your EFIS. There should be another RS-232 configured for ADBS+ OUT

Vic
Great tip Vic! Thanks. I'll pass it on.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-18-2020, 06:40 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rleffler View Post
Rob doesn't have any in stock? With the 4500, you have to use the AFS Arinc box. The Dynon version only works with the 5000 series.

It's be so long, I don't remember all the 430 pages. on my GTN650, there is an ARINC debug page in which you can see the ARINC labels being transmitted. But I suspect if there was one, Rob would have mentioned it.
I don't know. I talked to my avionics wrangler about an hour ago and he was still waiting for a callback from Rob.

ETA: He did assure that the EchoUAT and the 430W were on different serial ports....COM 1 vs COM 2. Only thing he has not checked is the connection continuity from the ARINC box to the EFIS. He's still thinking defective ARINC box.

Last edited by MacCool : 09-18-2020 at 08:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-19-2020, 10:20 AM
N402RH's Avatar
N402RH N402RH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 719
Default

There is a very detailed step by step trouble shooting procedure in the AF-4500 manual for the 430W interface starting on page 110.

https://www.advancedflightsystems.co...ual%20V7.4.pdf


We have AF-ARINC modules in stock, although I doubt that is the problem. Make sure they have taken the top off of the arinc module and verified that the green power led is on (Step 1.d)
We have had a number of people use a long mounting screw on the arinc module and it will touch the power supply inside the unit and blow the field replaceable fuse inside the unit.


If the problem really started when you installed the ADSB it is most likely a wiring problem.

If you need more help send me an email with your phone number.
Rob@Advanced-Flight-Systems.com


Rob Hickman
Advanced Flight Systems

Last edited by N402RH : 09-19-2020 at 10:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-19-2020, 11:10 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Thanks Rob. Email sent.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-19-2020, 03:54 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rleffler View Post
It really depends on what you mean by gps data.

Like Bob stated, it could be a rs-232 issue, which can be either an open circuit or bad configuration.

Latitude/longitude coordinates are sent on the rs-232 connection, whereas flight plan data is sent via Arinc. Which set of gps Data is the issue?
When checking the harnesses for integrity, is continuity sufficient, or should one be looking at actual resistance?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-19-2020, 04:00 PM
vic syracuse vic syracuse is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 2,674
Default

Continuity is good, but depending upon what transponder you have, there could be a 1.2k ohm resistor between the gps and the transponder. It is required for the Dynon transponders.

Vic
__________________
Vic Syracuse

Built RV-4, RV-6, 2-RV-10's, RV-7A, RV-8, Prescott Pusher, Kitfox Model II, Kitfox Speedster, Kitfox 7 Super Sport, Just Superstol, DAR, A&P/IA, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor, CFII-ASMEL/ASES
Kitplanes "Unairworthy" monthly feature
EAA Sport Aviation "Checkpoints" column
EAA Homebuilt Council Chair/member EAA BOD
Author "Pre-Buy Guide for Amateur-Built Aircraft"
www.Baselegaviation.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-21-2020, 01:08 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Brief update...and thank you all for the assistance:

My avionics-guru with Rob's help narrowed the problem down the the 430W or the ARINC interface, although the leading thought by most of you was that it was a wiring issue. So my buddy took the 430W out of his son's airplane and was going to put it in mine to see if it was the 430W. When he was pulling it from mine, he noted that the ARINC connector was sitting a little cockeyed and found that it was actually partially unplugged due to one of the securing screws being too short. He got a new screw from the avionics shop, plugged it back in, and everything now works perfectly except for the separate panel-mounted artificial horizon. It's kind of an ancient instrument, the company is out of business. We thought is was part of the wiring issue...turns out that it's just completely T.U. I ending up getting a good deal from Jason at Aerotronics on a G5 to replace it, which will give me good redundancy. Pleased about that.

Bottom line...ya'll were right. It was a wiring issue, now solved.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-21-2020, 01:45 PM
RV7A Flyer's Avatar
RV7A Flyer RV7A Flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCool View Post
Brief update...and thank you all for the assistance:

My avionics-guru with Rob's help narrowed the problem down the the 430W or the ARINC interface, although the leading thought by most of you was that it was a wiring issue. So my buddy took the 430W out of his son's airplane and was going to put it in mine to see if it was the 430W. When he was pulling it from mine, he noted that the ARINC connector was sitting a little cockeyed and found that it was actually partially unplugged due to one of the securing screws being too short. He got a new screw from the avionics shop, plugged it back in, and everything now works perfectly except for the separate panel-mounted artificial horizon. It's kind of an ancient instrument, the company is out of business. We thought is was part of the wiring issue...turns out that it's just completely T.U. I ending up getting a good deal from Jason at Aerotronics on a G5 to replace it, which will give me good redundancy. Pleased about that.

Bottom line...ya'll were right. It was a wiring issue, now solved.

Thanks again.
So it was #1 on Bob's list:

Quote:
General rule: do easy stuff first.
1. Look behind panel, see if somethings not plugged in.
This is a pretty good example of that rule...I was wondering why you were jumping to the much more complicated (and unlikely) assumption that the ARINC box was bad.
__________________
2019 Dues paid!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.