VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-10
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2017, 03:13 PM
Jrskygod Jrskygod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 632
Default Aerosport Panel Install Video

I have been searching every way I can think of for the aerosport panel install video URL I saw posted in a thread here a month or so ago. Could someone please share that video. It would be most helpful. Thanks
__________________
RV-3 Rebuilding
RV-9 Flying and having fun, experimenting and having fun, did I mention flying and having fun?
RV-6A SOLD
Maule M5-235C SOLD
C-172G SOLD
Stinson L5 SOLD
Grumman AA1A SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2017, 03:41 PM
Aerosport1's Avatar
Aerosport1 Aerosport1 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canal Winchester, Ohio
Posts: 417
Default

Here are some links to the RV310 panel install

310 Panel link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-...2xwOTRQWndSWDQ

Throttle Console Link
https://youtu.be/tjVtVQIsTVs

Overhead console
https://youtu.be/FNUGjxtQ6RI

Geoff
__________________
Geoff Combs
RV-10 N829GW 865hrs
1940 Piper J3 Cub
Rans S21
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2017, 12:26 AM
Jrskygod Jrskygod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 632
Default

Thank you, thank you, thank you
__________________
RV-3 Rebuilding
RV-9 Flying and having fun, experimenting and having fun, did I mention flying and having fun?
RV-6A SOLD
Maule M5-235C SOLD
C-172G SOLD
Stinson L5 SOLD
Grumman AA1A SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2017, 09:30 AM
edbooth edbooth is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Trenton, SC
Posts: 118
Smile Overhead console

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerosport1 View Post
Here are some links to the RV310 panel install

310 Panel link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-...2xwOTRQWndSWDQ

Throttle Console Link
https://youtu.be/tjVtVQIsTVs

Overhead console
https://youtu.be/FNUGjxtQ6RI

Geoff
It is possible to install the wiring for the overhead console up through that center brace and get rid if that ugly conduit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2017, 11:50 AM
NovaBandit's Avatar
NovaBandit NovaBandit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edbooth View Post
It is possible to install the wiring for the overhead console up through that center brace and get rid if that ugly conduit.
The "ugly conduit" you mention has been completely glassed into the a pillars and have a nicer finished look than the stock design.

You can squeeze whatever you can up the center post, or go under the floor and up into the overhead from the tailcone. I have more wires running to the overhead than I could fit in the center post, AND I kept my antenna wires and power wires separate... hence the "ugly conduit".
__________________
Ed Kranz
RV-10 N829EC - Flying
First Flight: 8/29/15
KSGS - Fleming Field, South Saint Paul, Minnesota

YouTube.com/GoodPlaneLiving
-- Build Timelapse and Travel Videos . . GoodPlaneLiving.com -- Build and Travel Blog
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2017, 09:33 PM
tazzrrd tazzrrd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: vi?a del mar, chile
Posts: 9
Default

Ed, the cables that provide Vans for the quadrant are used to use them in the Quad Arm Rest of Aerosport, as you show it in the video or it is necessary to ask for a special measurement ???

tks

Renzo Rissetto
Rv-10 builder - Chile
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2017, 07:18 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 4,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzrrd View Post
Ed, the cables that provide Vans for the quadrant are used to use them in the Quad Arm Rest of Aerosport, as you show it in the video or it is necessary to ask for a special measurement ???

tks

Renzo Rissetto
Rv-10 builder - Chile
You'll need longer cables. Once you get the arm rest and quadrant, you'll need to measure the length. There are too many variables to simply state one size fits all.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2017, 03:42 PM
NovaBandit's Avatar
NovaBandit NovaBandit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 583
Default

Yup. What Bob said.
__________________
Ed Kranz
RV-10 N829EC - Flying
First Flight: 8/29/15
KSGS - Fleming Field, South Saint Paul, Minnesota

YouTube.com/GoodPlaneLiving
-- Build Timelapse and Travel Videos . . GoodPlaneLiving.com -- Build and Travel Blog
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2020, 08:01 PM
Bill Boyd's Avatar
Bill Boyd Bill Boyd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Landing field "12VA"
Posts: 1,610
Default Help?

I'm at an awkward stage where I have the quad armrest center console but AFS has my 310 and lower panel parts for the next few months. Hoping to move forward with quadrant and console mounting but not sure what fore-aft datum I can use for positioning the arm rest console on the tunnel cover without the lower panel to butt it up against.

Is it safe to go off a measurement from someone else's build? Is there a way to fudge any gap that might result between quad console and lower panel piece with rubber trim? Or am I better off finding other things to do until the lower panel is installed? I probably can't even finish up FWF until I have the quadrant mounted and can measure/order the 3 Cali Push Pull cables to go between...

Maybe a reference distance between the forward-most tunnel cover mounting screw that gets match-drilled common with the console and the console's forward factory edge would suffice.
__________________
Bill Boyd

Hop-Along Aerodrome (12VA)
RV-6A - N30YD - Built '98 / sold '20
RV-10 - N130YD - Phase 1 flying

donating monthly to the VAF - thanks, Doug
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2020, 06:07 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 4,220
Default

I think the answer is, it depends on what you are measuring.

I only have a couple data points, but none of our aircraft are identical. Things can easily be off 1/16? - 1/8?. If you want to ensure a flush, tight fit, I would wait. At the end of the build is not a time to start taking short cuts. You want the cosmetics to look as perfect as you can do them.

For the control cables, being off that same amount isn?t a big deal. If you don?t have your lower console, Geoff should be able to give you close measurements as to where the throttle will be located. Get some weed eater string and run it they way you want and measure it. Adding an inch for insurance shouldn?t be an issue.

There still will be FWF stuff to do once the controls are cabled up.

Out of curiosity, why does AFS have your lower console? I would have thought all they needed were the panel inserts.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.