VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 03-27-2022, 04:15 PM
mke039 mke039 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 14
Default Garmin 430 wiring question(s)

I am removing an old Narco MK12D and replacing it with a Garmin 430 non waas.

I am unclear where to splice which Narco wires to which pins on the Garmin connectors.

The Narco has 5 wires coming out of the Com connector (which corresponds with the 4002 connector on the Garmin)

1. Mike Key

2. Mike Audio

3. Speaker Out

5. Low level Phones

6. Low level Audio Out

These go to the 4002 connector, but I am unclear about where.

Also, obviously a newby to Avionics wiring, where do the corresponding "LOW" wires connect to from the Garmin?

ie: com mic audio low, com audio low. There is no corresponding wires coming out of the Narco radio.

Any help,, or reference to educational material would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2022, 04:23 PM
Skid's Avatar
Skid Skid is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: KBUU
Posts: 292
Default

Download the install manual.

https://mstewart.net/Downloads/GNS430_IM.pdf
__________________
Skid
RV-6A
IO-360 B1B
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2022, 05:02 PM
mke039 mke039 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 14
Default

I have the manual. It is the descriptions of the wires that has me confused.

There is no pin in the Garmin manual labeled "Speaker Out"

There is no "com mic audio LO" from the Narco radio

nor a "com audio LO"

It is confusing to me but I bet someone has figured this out before me!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2022, 05:10 PM
mke039 mke039 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 14
Default Narco Wires

I have attached the pin out from the Narco MK12D with wires present circled.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Narco pin out--.pdf
Views:	77
Size:	651.7 KB
ID:	23962  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2022, 05:26 PM
mke039 mke039 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 14
Default

Which should interface with 4002?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GNS-430  connector 4002.pdf
Views:	69
Size:	737.7 KB
ID:	23963  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2022, 07:36 PM
Skid's Avatar
Skid Skid is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: KBUU
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mke039 View Post
Which should interface with 4002?
That diagram is for a 530. Do you have a 430 or a 530?
__________________
Skid
RV-6A
IO-360 B1B
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2022, 07:37 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 8,520
Default

When you see a Ďmike Loí or similar, itís an attempt to keep electrical noise on the ground wires out of sensitive parts. If you donít have ĎLoí connections on a certain box, just use that boxís ground instead.
You didnít ask, but: Splices, connectors, etc., are always a trouble spot 10 years down the road. Itís more work, but I would rip out all the old wiring (and connectors) and use new wire everywhere. Ten years from now your back will thank me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2022, 07:37 PM
mke039 mke039 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 14
Default

Stein sent me the pdf. The connections are the same
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-2022, 03:01 PM
terriair terriair is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: MONROEVILLE, NJ
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mke039 View Post
Stein sent me the pdf. The connections are the same
I literally just did the same thing (swapping in 430 for an old MK12d). ended up having to trace all the wires back to the intercom. its still giving me ****, not getting any transmit out. did you have any luck wrapping yours up?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-05-2022, 04:27 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 8,520
Default

More modern radios (430) do not have audio amplifiers built in, so they cannot drive a speaker. If you want to do so you’ll need a small audio amplifier, or an audio panel with one built in.
The low level 500 ohm audio output is obsolete. Use the 300 ohm audio out, as shown.
I again suggest new pins, new wire, not splicing. But be aware, the connectors on the back of the 430 are of two different types, some are regular d-Sub pins, some are ‘high density’. Use the correct ones.

Last edited by BobTurner : 04-05-2022 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.