What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How bumpy is too bumpy or too windy?

rockwoodrv9

Well Known Member
Patron
I am still a student pilot. I have about 40 hours solo and 15 or so instruction in my 9A. I am not a fan of bouncing around when I fly but here in Michigan calm days are rare.

I have limited my flying to less than 10 mph on the ground or a 5-7 knot cross wind. As it heats up here, the different types of land - trees, lakes, farm land, all cause thermals and some pretty bumpy rides.

It still freaks me out a bit when it starts getting bumpy. I have been trying to fly through it thinking I will get used to it. I am better but I do cut some of my flights short because I am not enjoying it.

Any suggestions on how to become more comfortable in the bumps or flying technique that will help?

When I was learning to fly hang gliders another student measured the days by puppy dogs. If it was smooth, it was a zero puppy dog day. The windier it got, the more it was like walking a gaggle of puppy dogs, and her personal limit was 3 puppy dogs pulling her around. Being yanked around by 4 puppy dogs just wasn't fun to her.

You will get used to it, but don't be in a big hurry. The limits you describe are what I used to give all my student pilots, are an excellent wind envelope for a student pilot, and it's even a good envelope for the first hundred hours or so. And just because you get the Private Pilot certificate does not mean you stop learning. I would strongly encourage my students to give me a holler every six months or so to go up and give them a little "personal envelope expansion" into stronger winds, or to make sure they had not grown into bad habits.