VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 06-27-2022, 07:27 AM
BOHICA's Avatar
BOHICA BOHICA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Austin
Posts: 140
Default Flap Switch location

Just wondering where people put there flap switch in the RV-14's.

* Pilot and Co-Pilot Stick
* Panel
* Panel and Pilot Stick
__________________
Rick
2021 Donation Made
RV-14A 140892 building N914RS
QB expected Arrival Sep '22- Jan '23

Last edited by BOHICA : 06-27-2022 at 07:30 AM. Reason: Incomplete info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2022, 07:38 AM
tgmillso tgmillso is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 844
Default

7, not a 14, but my switch is on the Tosten military grips and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I did my training in a 7 that had flaps on the panel and that had me looking in the cockpit on final to positively identify the switch. This convinced me to put them on the stick. Head down on final is not a good idea. Run it through a GAD27 so there’s no risk of bumping the flaps down at cruise speed. Also have flaps on copilot sticks, but can disconnect easily if necessary with a molex connector at the base of the stick.
Tom.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2022, 07:43 AM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 1,241
Default Flap Switch Location (Panel)

Not a -14, but in both of my -7's I placed it just above and to the left of the throttle.

I'm just not a fan of "extra" functions on the stick...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3080.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	281.4 KB
ID:	27516  
__________________
Brian Decker
RV-7 (Flying)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2022, 07:45 AM
PhatRV PhatRV is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Buena Park, California
Posts: 834
Default

On my RV8, I put the switch on the Infinity grip and a dedicated flap switch on the panel as a backup, in the case the switch on the grip fails. The switches are connected to the flap controller module so the wiring is more simple.
__________________
RV8 (N38PV): 90% completed (90% to go)
Waiting for hangar.
Days to Final Installation: 999
Days to AWC: 999
Days to First Flight: 999
Painting: 75% completed
Donation paid through 2022
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2022, 07:55 AM
Brian Perry Brian Perry is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 54
Default

I also placed mine on the panel just above the throttle. I contemplated putting it on the Tosten grip but decided against it to keep things simple. If there is a problem the wiring and thus the troubleshooting is much easier.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0310.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	290.9 KB
ID:	27517  
__________________
Brian Perry
RV 14A Kit #140588
Airworthiness Certificate Issued 1/9/2021
First Flight 1/23/2021
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2022, 08:17 AM
BOHICA's Avatar
BOHICA BOHICA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Austin
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgmillso View Post
7, not a 14, but my switch is on the Tosten military grips and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I did my training in a 7 that had flaps on the panel and that had me looking in the cockpit on final to positively identify the switch. This convinced me to put them on the stick. Head down on final is not a good idea. Run it through a GAD27 so there’s no risk of bumping the flaps down at cruise speed. Also have flaps on copilot sticks, but can disconnect easily if necessary with a molex connector at the base of the stick.
Tom.
Did you put on left or right side of your pilot stick?
__________________
Rick
2021 Donation Made
RV-14A 140892 building N914RS
QB expected Arrival Sep '22- Jan '23
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2022, 08:26 AM
BOHICA's Avatar
BOHICA BOHICA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Austin
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatRV View Post
On my RV8, I put the switch on the Infinity grip and a dedicated flap switch on the panel as a backup, in the case the switch on the grip fails. The switches are connected to the flap controller module so the wiring is more simple.
This one of the options I am thinking about since you can have two flap switches on GAD 27. With the second one on panel if Tosten fails I would not have to try and hit switch on other grip. Then I could set up co-pilot buttons as comm swap 1 and comm swap 2 to make easier for them to handle radios.
__________________
Rick
2021 Donation Made
RV-14A 140892 building N914RS
QB expected Arrival Sep '22- Jan '23
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2022, 08:46 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 3,748
Default

I use Infinity grips. Flap is a toggle switch operated by the thumb.

On the RV-10 I had it on both the pilot and co-pilot grips (as well as the top hat trim control). On the panel I added a “Pilot/Co-Pilot” selector switch that controlled the common ground for flaps and trim grip switches. The idea was to:
- Take flap and trim away from the co-pilot as most of the time that person was not an RV-10 pilot.
- Provide for a backup flap and trim operation if the pilot stick grip failed. It is easy to just reach over to the other stick.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2022, 08:56 AM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,948
Default

Mine is above the throttle in such way that I can push it while my hand is on the throttle. Unless there is a switch that disables flap above a certain speed, I would not be putting it on the stick.
__________________
Mehrdad
N825SM RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
N825MS RV14A - IO390 - SOLD
N258SM RV14A - IO390EXP119 - Out of Paint shop & flying
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2022, 09:12 AM
BOHICA's Avatar
BOHICA BOHICA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Austin
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bavafa View Post
Mine is above the throttle in such way that I can push it while my hand is on the throttle. Unless there is a switch that disables flap above a certain speed, I would not be putting it on the stick.
Both the GAD 27 and VPX provide speed limit on flap. So no worries on speed.
__________________
Rick
2021 Donation Made
RV-14A 140892 building N914RS
QB expected Arrival Sep '22- Jan '23
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.