VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #41  
Old 05-31-2014, 10:34 AM
MarkW's Avatar
MarkW MarkW is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edgewater, FL. KSFB
Posts: 1,145
Default

I found that I had not set the GTN650 RS-232 to the proper setting. I had it off and it needed to be ADS-B +. I also had not noticed that the transponder set-up required changing so it was still on "GPS Position" " VFR" and I have now changed it to IE-7. I flew this morning and will check with big brother again Monday to see if it fixed it.
__________________
Mark
RV9 - N14MW - Flying
G3X - ECI Titan I0-320
Catto three blade prop
http://www.mykitlog.com/MarkW
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-31-2014, 12:04 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW View Post
I found that I had not set the GTN650 RS-232 to the proper setting. I had it off and it needed to be ADS-B +. I also had not noticed that the transponder set-up required changing so it was still on "GPS Position" " VFR" and I have now changed it to IE-7. I flew this morning and will check with big brother again Monday to see if it fixed it.
Mine was set to 1E-5 and ADS-B which was the recommended settings when I first commissioned the panel.

I have now set it to 1E-7 and ADS-B+.

Flew again today for a bit and will also check with Jim on Monday for a new report.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-31-2014, 12:56 PM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,523
Default

While on the conversation with ADS-B, once in a while I see traffic on my display that disappears for a short duration (a minute or two) just to reappear again. Yesterday after making the changes to the configuration/setup, I went for another flight and saw this again. Interestingly, this was the case for only traffic nearby as I change the range of my map and I could see traffic far away (100 KN range) but not the traffic nearby.

Does anyone know what could this mean or be the cause of it?

As a note, those far away traffic were most likely commercial planes within SF airspace and most likely have ADSB-out whereas the nearby traffic were GA traffic. I also saw a Kingair that was landing at the same airport as I was and that traffic was displayed very accurately all the way to the ground. I had meant to ask him if he has ADSB on board but never got a chance for it.
__________________
Mehrdad
N825SM RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
N825MS RV14A - IO390 - Flying
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 05-31-2014, 01:26 PM
Pat Hatch's Avatar
Pat Hatch Pat Hatch is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brantel View Post
Mine was set to 1E-5 and ADS-B which was the recommended settings when I first commissioned the panel.

I have now set it to 1E-7 and ADS-B+.

Flew again today for a bit and will also check with Jim on Monday for a new report.
Where are you guys getting the information on the ADS-B+ setting? According to Revision M of the G3X install manual, page 20-15, the setting for the GTN650 RS-232 output is "MAPMX." Am I missing something?

I did change the transponder config setting to IE-7. I'll check performance with Jim on Monday as well, flying tomorrow.

OK, I'm going to answer my own question: the RS-232 output from the 650, channel 1, should be set to ADS B OUT +, if available, according to a schematic sent to me by Steve from Garmin quite some time ago. It's the 650 ch 3 out that I was confusing this with, that one should be set to "MAPMX." So I think I'm all set. Thanks for the good info from this thread!
__________________
Pat Hatch
RV-4 (Gone to RV heaven)
RV-6 (N44PH - Flying)
RV-7 (Sold)
RV-8 (Builder & Avionics Installer)
www.phaviation.com Trim Relay Boards/Flap Actuators
www.pathatch.com/blog (Photography)
Track Me

Last edited by Pat Hatch : 05-31-2014 at 01:47 PM. Reason: Added last paragraph.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 05-31-2014, 01:37 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Hatch View Post
Where are you guys getting the information on the ADS-B+ setting? According to Revision M of the G3X install manual, page 20-15, the setting for the GTN650 RS-232 output is "MAPMX." Am I missing something?

I did change the transponder config setting to IE-7. I'll check performance with Jim on Monday as well, flying tomorrow.
20-10 & 20-11,

Steve also confirmed this a few post back.

The setting you refered to is not the transponder link.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook

Last edited by Brantel : 05-31-2014 at 01:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 05-31-2014, 01:39 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bavafa View Post
While on the conversation with ADS-B, once in a while I see traffic on my display that disappears for a short duration (a minute or two) just to reappear again. Yesterday after making the changes to the configuration/setup, I went for another flight and saw this again. Interestingly, this was the case for only traffic nearby as I change the range of my map and I could see traffic far away (100 KN range) but not the traffic nearby.

Does anyone know what could this mean or be the cause of it?

As a note, those far away traffic were most likely commercial planes within SF airspace and most likely have ADSB-out whereas the nearby traffic were GA traffic. I also saw a Kingair that was landing at the same airport as I was and that traffic was displayed very accurately all the way to the ground. I had meant to ask him if he has ADSB on board but never got a chance for it.
If they were a mode-c target that was being up linked to you via the ground stations, and they flew outside of radar coverage, they will disappear.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 05-31-2014, 02:07 PM
SmilingJack's Avatar
SmilingJack SmilingJack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hilton Head Island
Posts: 1,105
Default Successful Report

I don't know if this helps, but here is a report that passes and was a flight from Florida to New Jersey in A Falcon. Maybe good for comparson...

If not, feel free to delete this.







__________________
John Mastro
RV-8 (SOLD)
10 years of Awesomeness!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 05-31-2014, 02:55 PM
MarkW's Avatar
MarkW MarkW is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edgewater, FL. KSFB
Posts: 1,145
Default

Pat,
I hope I don,t confuse things here but I think the Mapx you are referring to only provides gps signal to the G3X. There is a separate RS232 that feeds the 23Es.
I don't have my wiring harness pin-out at home with me but the RS232 #2 out is for the transponder and should be set as ADS-B +. Pg. C-9 rev k.
I think the one you are referring to is RS232 #3 out. Pg. C-14
I don't remember what I have on RS232#1
__________________
Mark
RV9 - N14MW - Flying
G3X - ECI Titan I0-320
Catto three blade prop
http://www.mykitlog.com/MarkW
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05-31-2014, 04:42 PM
Pat Hatch's Avatar
Pat Hatch Pat Hatch is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW View Post
Pat,
I hope I don,t confuse things here but I think the Mapx you are referring to only provides gps signal to the G3X. There is a separate RS232 that feeds the 23Es.
I don't have my wiring harness pin-out at home with me but the RS232 #2 out is for the transponder and should be set as ADS-B +. Pg. C-9 rev k.
I think the one you are referring to is RS232 #3 out. Pg. C-14
I don't remember what I have on RS232#1
Correct, Mark. Turns out I had both set correctly, just couldn't remember the details since it was almost a year ago. Actually, it's RS232 ch 3 that feeds the G3X and should be set to MAPMX. Ch 1 to the GTX23ES, set at ADS-B+. Thanks!
__________________
Pat Hatch
RV-4 (Gone to RV heaven)
RV-6 (N44PH - Flying)
RV-7 (Sold)
RV-8 (Builder & Avionics Installer)
www.phaviation.com Trim Relay Boards/Flap Actuators
www.pathatch.com/blog (Photography)
Track Me
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-02-2014, 05:48 AM
MarkW's Avatar
MarkW MarkW is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edgewater, FL. KSFB
Posts: 1,145
Default

Pat,
I double checked my harness spread sheet this morning.

I do not use the RS232 #1 out on the GTN
RS232 #2 out feeds the GTX and will configure to ADS-B +
On my GTN the RS232 #1 would only configure to ADS-B and not the +
I believe the drawing shows using #2 and not #1 for the GTX.
Then the #3 is used to feed the G3X.

I am hoping this mornings report from this weekends flights shows compliance.
__________________
Mark
RV9 - N14MW - Flying
G3X - ECI Titan I0-320
Catto three blade prop
http://www.mykitlog.com/MarkW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.