VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 11-17-2016, 10:58 AM
BOORSMA BOORSMA is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Transponder/ADS-B tail number mismatch

I just got a call and follow up e-mail from the FAA saying that my ADS-B output tail number did not match my Transponder tail number. The transponder output is correct but the last two digits on the ADS-B tail number were incorrect. I have no idea what could cause this since I only know of entering the tail number in the Dynon system one time during set-up.

Has this ever happened to anyone else?
__________________
D. Boorsma
RV-12, Bakersfield, CA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2016, 11:17 AM
Radomir's Avatar
Radomir Radomir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,524
Default

This is fairly typical as quite a few planes are flying around with misconfigured equipment (of all makes).. You can take a pic of Dynon config and post it here..

Did they tell you what values you were sending out or just "it's off..."

PS. what's your tail number?
__________________
Radomir
RV-7A sold
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2016, 11:59 AM
n74846 n74846 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Boca Raton, FL BCT
Posts: 138
Default

I found a very useful site to convert your N number into IACO format. I used that input to change it in the Skyview, then flew an confirmed with ARTCC while in the air. The site is: avionictools.com.
__________________
Steve at LNA now after BCT tripled rent!
Flying a built ELSA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2016, 12:55 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 10,011
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by n74846 View Post
I found a very useful site to convert your N number into IACO format. I used that input to change it in the Skyview, then flew an confirmed with ARTCC while in the air. The site is: avionictools.com.
Do you need that conversion any more?

The FAA registration online data base now gives the Mode S code in both octal and hexadecimal formats.

The IACO standard is the base 16 hex code, and that is what Skyview requires.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2016, 02:14 PM
n74846 n74846 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Boca Raton, FL BCT
Posts: 138
Default

Don't know that answer, but the site yields hex, octal, and binary codes for the N number.
__________________
Steve at LNA now after BCT tripled rent!
Flying a built ELSA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2016, 03:02 PM
BOORSMA BOORSMA is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default

I went into the set-up menu and the tail number and hex code are correct. I got an e-mail from Dynon that said I may have to wait when I turn on the master switch until the system is completely up and running before I turn on the avionics rocker switch. That will give the unit time to load properly and send the correct signal to the transponder/ADS-B.

I will give that a try and let everyone know how that works out.
__________________
D. Boorsma
RV-12, Bakersfield, CA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.