VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2016, 07:33 PM
GalinHdz's Avatar
GalinHdz GalinHdz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSGJ / TJBQ
Posts: 2,165
Default Possible AD for certain NAVWORX ADS-B Units

Shamelessly plagiarized from another forum: "It looks like there is an AD coming on the Navworx ADS600-B -012, -013 and the EXP 8013 ADS-B Transcievers. The proposed AD is located here. If you are impacted, you have 60 days to comment."

__________________
Galin
CP-ASEL-AMEL-IR
FCC Radiotelephone (PG) with Radar Endorsement
2020 Donation made
www.PuertoRicoFlyer.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2016, 09:53 PM
scsmith scsmith is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ashland, OR
Posts: 2,801
Default Hmmmm.

Hmmmm. This isn't great news. Perhaps the Navworx folks can provide some back story? I'm really hoping to buy two of the -EXP units next year.
__________________
Steve Smith
Aeronautical Engineer
RV-8 N825RV
IO-360 A1A
WW 200RV
"The Magic Carpet" Flying since Sept. 2009
Hobbs 635
LS6-15/18W sailplane SOLD
bought my old LS6-A back!!
VAF donation Dec 2020
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2016, 11:39 PM
Paul 5r4 Paul 5r4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 604
Default I'm impacted

The Navworx 600EXP has been installed in my plane about three months. I'm already spoiled and don't want to think about flying without this traffic and weather. Is this just a software issue, something they can rewrite? It looks like this AD will effect about 800 of their ADSB units. Hoping Navworx will chime in today!
Edited: I went to Navworx site and there is information there regarding UPN or unapproved parts notification... what ever that means... and at the end it states to write to the FAA administrator or your congressman.

I'm upset!
__________________
Paul Gray
Foley, Alabama
N729PG..... 450+ hrs
RV 7A, Lycoming 0 320 D1A, Sensenich FP propeller
pilotforfun2001@yahoo.com
VAF supporter $$$

Last edited by Paul 5r4 : 10-21-2016 at 12:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2016, 06:05 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,683
Default

It sounds like the FAA's beef is about the GPS accuracy (which they issued a certification to). For those who have a certified WAAS position source, I would presume that this would "fix" the issue, but I haven't heard this mentioned anywhere.
__________________
Jesse Saint

Last edited by Jesse : 10-21-2016 at 11:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2016, 06:11 AM
tthrew tthrew is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 90
Default aopa article link

https://www.aopa.org/news-and-media/...pn-for-ads600b

I hope this gets worked out - I was planning on buying one of these next year.
__________________
Tim
RV-7A N54LH O360 CS 1200+ Hobbs
Joined VAF 2015
2020 VAF dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2016, 10:31 AM
Tracer 10 Tracer 10 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 139
Unhappy NavWorx Proposed AD

You have to wonder if the Big Guns producing Expensive ADSB products are working behind the scene to Torpedo NavWorx.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2016, 10:43 AM
donaziza's Avatar
donaziza donaziza is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 779
Default

I hope it gets solved too. I've got a 600 Exp still sitting in th? box waiting to be installed in January. I don't Know exactly which mod?l, I just Know it 's a 600 Exp.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2016, 11:08 AM
recapen recapen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Laurel, DE
Posts: 360
Default

I've contacted NavWorx - no answer on what they plan to do for their customers - I asked a bunch of pointed questions.

They did request that I comment on the AD - which I did.

Recommend all y'all do the same!
__________________
Ralph E. Capen
RV6AQB N822AR @ N06
"Patience"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2016, 02:52 PM
maus92 maus92 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul 5r4 View Post
The Navworx 600EXP has been installed in my plane about three months. I'm already spoiled and don't want to think about flying without this traffic and weather. Is this just a software issue, something they can rewrite? It looks like this AD will effect about 800 of their ADSB units. Hoping Navworx will chime in today!
Edited: I went to Navworx site and there is information there regarding UPN or unapproved parts notification... what ever that means... and at the end it states to write to the FAA administrator or your congressman.

I'm upset!
You should be upset. As described, this seems to be both a hardware and software issue. Its internal GPS hardware does not and can not meet the specs of the TSO C-154c. NavWorks' older operating software makes it appear to the FAA's system that their device is using a conforming GPS position source, which it is apparently not. The software was changed report the GPS position source's integrity accurately, which in turn makes it non-compliant. Uh, oh....
__________________
CA
2000 RV-8A | O-360, SDS CPI, FP, G3X Touch, VP-X, EarthX | Eastern Shore | KESN

Last edited by maus92 : 10-21-2016 at 03:06 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2016, 03:26 PM
kevin O kevin O is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: swanton vt
Posts: 94
Default

Pls refer to the AD language as well as Navworx notice just posted on their website. This does affect the ads600 exp as well as the certified versions. Not sure that 800 users writing the Faa or congressman telling them our units are accurate is going to change this. I would like to see something from Navworx with solutions should this ruling come to pass. Does anyone know what units are out there that are not affected. Can those components be used in the affected units? Can a 430w, 530w etc be used as position source? If so is a modification of the affected units necessary or just running new wires. Would be nice if Navworx was addressing some of this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.