What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rebuilding Lycoming O320-D3G

GAZ

I'm New Here
Thinking of rebuilding my Lycoming 320D3G. I have rebuilt several auto engines including a Mazda rotary. And after checking into prices for engines.... ECI Lycoming etc. rebuilding my own is starting to look pretty good. I'm looking for comments,advice and suggestions. I have checked in to having Divco do my crankcase and Aircraft Specialties do all my steel parts. I would put all new cylinder assemblies on. My carb.and Mag have less than 100 hours on them and the rest of the accessories only have the 248 hours on them. Has any body out there rebuilt their own Lycoming engine? If so I would love to hear how it went. Thanks, Greg

Lyco rebuild

I will qualify first by saying that I am a professional auto mechanic and machinist by trade, so things might look a little different from where I stand. That being said, as rebuilds go, Lycoming engines are very basic, and compared to a modern auto engine, they are very easy to work on. The clearances are actually less critical, and they require only a few special tools.
The important thing is to identify and comply with all of the AD's that have been issued along the way. Using Aircraft Specialties Services for your steel parts will assure that you have servicable crank and rods, and I suggest you send the crankcase halves and accesory case to the guys at CSI and let them have a look. They are great folks and will advise you what needs to be done to bring them up to snuff. A new top end will simplify the whole affair. One note, when you add it all up, you may find the investment closer to the price of a new engine than you had imagined.
All in all, I prefer this method, as I always feel more comfortable with engines that I have rebuilt or assembled. YMMV.