What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Question about VANs

tsled

I'm New Here
Hiya all,

I am a newbie, I ordered an RV8 emp kit at the end of April, when I did the inventory I noticed I was missing Bag 618 and it said "B/O" on the sheet. I called VAN's and they said the bag of nuts and bolts would ship as soon as they got some bolts that were back ordered. Well that was over 3 months ago. I have E-mailed them and call them and they keep saying the same thing??? I know when I built my last plane I could order any bolt from Aircraft Spruce or Wicks and have them in 2 days? So my question is, is this "normal" for VAN's?

Tom...
:confused:

NO

No Tom it is not...
I have had excellent customer service from Vans every time I've had to order parts.
This is definetely an exception in my opinion.
Call back and speak to a manager and ask to get the full story.
I think you will find that you will be done right with this situation.
I cant imagine any emp parts that cannot be gotten easily.
Good luck,
Jim 7A Wings

I 2nd that!

I have received nothing but excellent service from Vans. On my RV-8 fuselage kit (-1 version). There were some parts that didn't have the holes drilled from the factory - had me scratching my head for a few minutes. Called Vans on Monday and had the replacement parts by Wed and I live in Ohio.

Must be a unique circumstance.

Last edited:
I agree with the others, in regards to this situation not being "normal" for Van's. I delt with Van's for 12 years, and getting parts have been rather quick.

L.Adamson -- RV6A

Agreed

The other thought is that if these are simple nuts and bolts, just get the sizes off the plans and order them from Spruce or buy 'em at the local FBO...They are cheap and will get you building at least.

Most unusual for Van's

Frank

Not the norm