What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A few newbie riveting questions

Hink

I'm new to the world of bucking rivets. I have completed the tool box practice kit and half of the other and have a few questions.

Are both sides of the hole de-burred?

When using Avery's rivet gauges, which is more important, diameter of the shop end head, or depth? When I get the correct diameter the shop end is a little to long, when driven more the head diameter gets to big for the gauge to fit.

When bucking rivets on dimpled skins how can depth of the shop end be measured?

I noticed when cleco'ing the clecos leave small scratches is this normal?

Lastly, once bucked the A end is the rivets appear discolored or marred, are they later buffed or cleaned prior to painting?

Sorry if some of these sound dumb, just want to get this thing right.

Scott

1 - yes
2 - diameter
3 - to the "top" of the dimple
4 - yep, build on
5 - A="Manufactured head", yep, paint covers everything but the worst craftsmanship. Totally normal.

6 - Find a local tech counselor :).

Thanks for the info. I was planning on having someone look over my work once I near completion on the vertical stab. Is this a good place, or is another better?

Also, does anyone know of a tech counselor in the Canton, GA area with RV experience? I looked in Van's book at OSH and did not see any -10 builders in the area.

Thanks,
Scott

Check the instructions on those Avery guages...

It's been a while, but I seem to recall that you don't want the rivet to fit in the hole (barely) AND you don't want it to slide under the notch in the end of the gauge. From the way you described it, it sounds as if you were trying to do something different.

Scott,