VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 03-27-2020, 03:37 PM
FlyingFox FlyingFox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 9
Default Dual PMAGs, G3X Configurations

Anyone with dual PMAGs, using Garmin G3X, that has configured the RPM settings in the configuration section for accurate RPM, please share the configuration, or email me your configuration,

Thanks,
Alvinfox44@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:02 PM
bkervaski's Avatar
bkervaski bkervaski is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,867
Default

I have, are you using the rpm reading from both pmags or just one?
__________________
RV-14A #140376
N196 (Flying)
2019 Bronze Lindy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:14 PM
FlyingFox FlyingFox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 9
Default Just the left PMAG

Just the left PMAG,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:17 PM
FlyingFox FlyingFox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 9
Default

Currently, set to: electronics ignition, 2 pulses per revolution.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2021, 05:10 PM
Eric Minnis Eric Minnis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 93
Default

I know it is an older post but I am having a hard time with this. It is the last item to get working properly on my new build.

Single G3X is installed with a GEA-24 engine monitor module.
I am running dual P-mags on a Lycoming IO-320
The Ignition switch is a specific unit purchased from Stein for this ignition. It provides for 3 positions. Off, On and Test. I've used them often.
The engine runs great and the P-Mags test and operate as they should.

I have configured the G3X to RPM 1 for the Electronic Ignition option with 2 pulses per rev. The P-mags are new and latest software.
I am going from pin 6 on the P-mag to pin 8 on the GEA-24.

P-MAG wiring and set up was followed as was the G3X Install Manual.

I can not get a tach reading on the G3X to save my life. Today, I even swapped the pin 6 output between the P-mags and still nothing. I've done all the basic things like making sure pin 8 in the right spot and that all wiring if free of resistance and shorts, opens etc.

This has always been easy in the past and is my 5th or 6th G3X install. Could I have a bad GEA-24??

If anyone has any ideas I am all ears. This is literally the last set up item I have before first flight.
__________________
RV-7, XP-O-360 in process
Clip Wing Taylorcraft, IO-320
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2021, 06:01 AM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 829
Default

Just a thought, but the tach wire to the p-mag is a shielded wire with a very small insulated inner wire. You need to remove the outer insulation, the shielding, and also the insulation on the tiny inner wire before connecting to the p-mag plug. It will probably work, then. Ask me how I know.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2021, 06:22 AM
Eric Minnis Eric Minnis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 93
Default

MED- Good point on that one and it may have gotten me in the past as well ;-)

This one is connected to the wire, not the shielding. I've also seen these work fine without using a shielded wire at all fwiw.

Thank you!
__________________
RV-7, XP-O-360 in process
Clip Wing Taylorcraft, IO-320
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-09-2021, 12:44 PM
Eric Minnis Eric Minnis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 93
Default

Well, It is with much consumed crow that I have fixed my RPM issue.

I traditionally build all my own harnesses. Stein did a beautiful job on this one and I failed to notice the shielded wire they so elegantly put in the harness.

I did it. I made a rookie mistake and installed the jumper to the shield. MED was right.

Took all of 3 minutes to fix it and I now have an operating tach.
__________________
RV-7, XP-O-360 in process
Clip Wing Taylorcraft, IO-320
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2021, 01:23 PM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 829
Default

Iíll bet we are not the first . . . or the last.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.