VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-06-2019, 04:19 PM
ArlingtonRV ArlingtonRV is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 536
Default GDL-82 Configuration Problem

So, I got the GDL-82 installed, but am having difficulty with the configuration. When I turn on the power on and launch the GDL 8X Install Tool on my laptop I get the check mark in the present block next to ?GDL-82? as seen in the figure on page 7-2 of the install manual. It then brings up the ? Unit Information Page? as shown on page 7-4. I get the green box in the lower left that says ?Configuration Mode?, but after about 5 seconds it turns red and says disconnected.

Obviously I did something wrong somewhere, but I can?t figure out what.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Steve Rush
Arlington, WA
ArlingtonRV on YouTube
RV-8 (Bought Flying)
Glasair Sportsman (Sold)
RV-8 Tail, QB Fuselage (Sold)
RV-4 (Bought Flying) (Sold)
RV-9 Tail
RV-12 120018 Flying (Sold)
RV-7 Tail, Wings, Started Fuse (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2019, 04:57 PM
simpkinsona simpkinsona is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 194
Default Problems

I don?t remember for sure, but I think I had the transponder off while I did the configuration. Maybe that makes a difference. Maybe double check you have steady power to the unit.

-Andy
__________________
Andy Simpkinson
RV-9a Subaru engine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2019, 05:36 PM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 2,122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArlingtonRV View Post
...after about 5 seconds it turns red and says disconnected.
Did you touch anything during those 5 seconds? Those 28 AWG wires to the USB connector could easily cause a loose connection.
__________________
(2020 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2019, 06:02 PM
ArlingtonRV ArlingtonRV is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snopercod View Post
Did you touch anything during those 5 seconds? Those 28 AWG wires to the USB connector could easily cause a loose connection.
No, I didn't touch anything. After the first time I crawled back inside to make sure none of the wires came loose and tried it again. I did it a total of 7 or 8 times and the result was always the same.

It seems like the program knows the GDL is there, but can't connect to it.
__________________
Steve Rush
Arlington, WA
ArlingtonRV on YouTube
RV-8 (Bought Flying)
Glasair Sportsman (Sold)
RV-8 Tail, QB Fuselage (Sold)
RV-4 (Bought Flying) (Sold)
RV-9 Tail
RV-12 120018 Flying (Sold)
RV-7 Tail, Wings, Started Fuse (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2019, 07:45 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,008
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArlingtonRV View Post
So, I got the GDL-82 installed, but am having difficulty with the configuration. When I turn on the power on and launch the GDL 8X Install Tool on my laptop I get the check mark in the present block next to “GDL-82” as seen in the figure on page 7-2 of the install manual. It then brings up the “ Unit Information Page” as shown on page 7-4. I get the green box in the lower left that says “Configuration Mode”, but after about 5 seconds it turns red and says disconnected.

Obviously I did something wrong somewhere, but I can’t figure out what.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Hello Steve,

Since most of us make so many wiring mistakes, it is always good to re-check the USB wiring. In addition to possibly plugging a pin in the wrong connector hole, a bad pin crimp may also occur.



If you want to use a multi-meter to check end-to-end, it isn't too hard to get a probe on each of the 4 pins of the USB pigtail. Using the above Type B pigtail pinout (looking into end of pigtail), here is the cross reference to the connector pins on the DB-15 that plugs into the GDL 82.

Pigtail 1 to GDL 11 (red wire)
Pigtail 2 to GDL 1 (white wire)
Pigtail 3 to GDL 6 (green wire)
Pigtail 4 to GDL 7 (black wire)

The white and green are the USB data wires, and I suspect you may have a problem with one of them.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 01-06-2019 at 07:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2019, 08:34 PM
ArlingtonRV ArlingtonRV is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 536
Default

Steve,

That certainly makes sense, I will check it out.

Thanks
__________________
Steve Rush
Arlington, WA
ArlingtonRV on YouTube
RV-8 (Bought Flying)
Glasair Sportsman (Sold)
RV-8 Tail, QB Fuselage (Sold)
RV-4 (Bought Flying) (Sold)
RV-9 Tail
RV-12 120018 Flying (Sold)
RV-7 Tail, Wings, Started Fuse (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2019, 12:32 PM
Ted RV8 Ted RV8 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 430
Default

Don?t know if it?s important and pretty sure g3xpert will chime in.

The install tool has a specific order of plugging in and powering up to link with the install tool.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2019, 12:42 PM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 2,122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted RV8 View Post
The install tool has a specific order of plugging in and powering up to link with the install tool.
By golly you're right! I had forgotten that you have to plug your laptop to the USB-B connector with the GDL-82 powered down. Then, after powering up the GDL-82, you bring up the GDL-8X install program. But I would sure ring out the connector pins first.
__________________
(2020 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2019, 07:21 PM
ArlingtonRV ArlingtonRV is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 536
Default Success!

Thanks to all of you who provided input. I would have been one to suggest checking the pin locations as well, but I was super careful in putting the connector together and double and triple checked each connection.

The prize goes to Ken at Garmin support (I also asked the question directly to Garmin). His response started the same as everyone else's, but then he went in a direction that I hadn't thought of. His response was, and I quote:

1. Verify USB port terminations at connector.
2. USB cable length should not be over 4 feet.
3. Use a good quality USB cable.

What? USB cable no longer than 4', I had never heard that before. I was using a 15' Amazon Basics cable. I've never had problems with Amazon Basics products before, but this one did not work, either due to the length or just poor quality.

I stopped by Wally World on the way to the airport and got a 6' cable (couldn't find a 3'). I plugged it in and then the GDL 8X Install Tool kept crashing. Oh great, another problem. After a couple of computer reboots I got a connection and it was rock solid throughout the entire ground test process.

It is interesting because when I was finished I thought, you know, when all else fails RTFM (read the instructions). And on page 7-2 of the install manual, item 3 at the top of the page says "The cable length should not exceed 16 ft." I don't know if the problem was that the cable was too long, according to the installation manual it shouldn't be, but per Ken's suggestion it definitely was, or if it is just a poor quality cable.

Either way, everything appears to work fine, no faults, no interference, all green. All that is left is to put everything back together and go fly it. Yeah, right, ALL that's left...
__________________
Steve Rush
Arlington, WA
ArlingtonRV on YouTube
RV-8 (Bought Flying)
Glasair Sportsman (Sold)
RV-8 Tail, QB Fuselage (Sold)
RV-4 (Bought Flying) (Sold)
RV-9 Tail
RV-12 120018 Flying (Sold)
RV-7 Tail, Wings, Started Fuse (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2019, 06:36 AM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 2,122
Default

Wooo-hooo! You got 'er done! Who would have suspected the USB cable length? Not having a laptop, I brought my desktop from home to do my configuration:

__________________
(2020 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.