VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 04-11-2020, 06:57 PM
Jhamilton Jhamilton is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Silver Spring
Posts: 17
Default Fuselage Mounted Roll Servo

I'm looking to mount a roll servo in the fuselage (my wings are already closed up) and would like to know if anyone has a template/plans for the necessary brackets and mounting hardware.
__________________
_______________________
James
RV-8 in Progress
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2020, 07:30 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 2,951
Default

Not sure why you cannot mount a standard roll servo in a finished wing. I do.

The old wing leveler servo mounted in the fuselage and had an arm that connected to the stick tube. BUT - I do not recommend adopting that design.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2020, 05:52 AM
Larry DeCamp's Avatar
Larry DeCamp Larry DeCamp is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clinton, Indiana
Posts: 1,084
Default Carl ?

What is your observation of applying the servo to the stick ?
__________________
Larry DeCamp
RV-3B flying w/7:1 0320 / carb / Pmags / Catto 3b / digital steam
RV-4 fastback w/ Superior roller 360/AFP/G3X/CPI/Catto3b
Clinton, IN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2020, 07:59 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 2,951
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry DeCamp View Post
What is your observation of applying the servo to the stick ?
It worked, but:
- It was fragile. I had to reengineer the connection from what I got from Navaid to keep it from breaking. I used a Navaid wing leveler as back then on my first RV it was the only practical option.
- It gets busy where you need to mount the servo under the floorboard. In most RV-8/8A this is prime antenna mount space. Add the larger wire bundles that most people are doing (as in full avionics and such) and this area is not suited for roll servo mounting.

The Dynon autopilot roll servo mounts on the right wing bell crank as an assembly, so easy to install and remove. I don?t know but assume the other major brands of autopilots are similar.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2020, 04:42 PM
Hwood Hwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Alabama
Posts: 321
Default Same-o

The Garmin roll servo mounts the same...bolts right on and connects to the bell crank (already drilled). Piece of cake and easily doable thru the inspection plate.
__________________
Hwood
N469SH / "Crazy Woman" (sold)
Working on Another -8
Exempt but paid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2020, 11:24 PM
rv8ch's Avatar
rv8ch rv8ch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LSGY
Posts: 3,757
Default do it in the wing

I did it both ways, and in the wing is both easier and "better". Also, when it comes time to inspect/maintain it, removing the wing inspection panel is much easier than getting to it under the seat and floor.

If the wing is already on, just get some boxes and a bit of old carpet or something else comfortable to lay on to get you into position under the wing.
__________________
Mickey Coggins
http://rv8.ch
"Hello, world!"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2020, 10:03 AM
SMRacer's Avatar
SMRacer SMRacer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 595
Default

I installed my autopilot in 2015 when I converted to AFS glass. The Dynon servos included a wing mount roll servo mounting kit. Didn't want to go there. So I looked into the fuselage mount. Tru Track made the bracket kit, but apparently they were getting tired of supplying that kit when the purchaser bought the autopilot and servos somewhere else. So they raised the price to $200. (I don't know what they charge now)

Anyhow they have all the drawings on their web site and it's pretty easy to fabricate, except for welding the tab on the torque tube bracket.

https://www.bendixking.com/~/media/4...8c6a2ad92.ashx

I'm generally in this area for each condition inspection and it's not that hard to get at for additional maintenance.
__________________
Jim
Leesburg, VA (KJYO)
RV4 N444JT (sold)
RV8 N37PK
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2020, 10:25 AM
Breezy Breezy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Okeana, Ohio
Posts: 104
Default

James,
You can mount the servo in either location. The wing mount is at the aileron bellcrank and the bracket bolts in place via the inspection panel. Not sure what system you are using but most manufacturers have pre-Fab brackets.
I have observed, while doing condition inspections that a number of the underseat mounting can have very tight clearance with the servo arm and the floor panel. At install there is clearance, after some time body weight causes the floor panel to sag and the eye bearing on the servo arm contacts the floor panel.

Cheers!
__________________
Breezy
First offense RV-8; N594WR; 80594 (time served)
ECI TITAN IOX 360 A1A9N, G3X

Repeat Offender: 83137 (Flying 10/16)
N837DW; Superior IO 360; G3X Touch.
Exceptional Aircraft Award, Sun N Fun 2017; Best Homebuilt, Mid-Eastern Regional Fly-in 2017.

One More Time: 140359, -14 in process, IO-390 (Maybe)


KHAO (Hogan Field)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.