VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 04-12-2010, 04:01 PM
docsuresh docsuresh is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 70
Default Linking Garmin696 to TT autopilot

Checking with folks who are using a Garmin X96 with a Trutrak AP.

I am about to pull the last of my remaining hair on this one. The rest of the panel is working great but I haven't been able to get the 696 to connect with the Trutrak and have a active flight plan on the 696 drive the TT autopilot.

I can check again but believe that I have it wired right and settings on the Garmin side (NMEA in/out, Fast 4800) and TT side (4800) are configured right.

Is there anything else I may be missing? Once you activate a flight plan is there something else that needs to be triggered at either end?

thanks,
Suresh
N765RV
Ramona, CA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2010, 04:46 PM
mburch's Avatar
mburch mburch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,349
Default

Sounds correct. If you have the serial port set up for NMEA data, you don't need to do anything special to make the data come out. Maybe a wiring issue?

mcb
__________________
Matt Burch
RV-7 (last 90%)
http://www.rv7blog.com

Any opinions expressed in this message are my own and not those of my employer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2010, 07:37 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,514
Default

Try setting the Advanced NMEA setting to normal instead of fast....

Double check the wiring. Make sure your using the TX wire at the Garmin and the RX wire on the TT.

Also, make sure you have a common ground between the two units. If your running on the 696's battery, you need to ground the 696 to the same ground as the TT.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook

Last edited by Brantel : 04-12-2010 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2021, 09:14 PM
dafast1's Avatar
dafast1 dafast1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 9
Default wanna-do-it-too

Is anyone still around from this thread or on this topic that could direct a guy who is electronics ignorant to a step by step guide on linking the 696 with the TT, or to another URL where specific details could be found about doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2021, 09:34 PM
Kyle Boatright Kyle Boatright is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dafast1 View Post
Is anyone still around from this thread or on this topic that could direct a guy who is electronics ignorant to a step by step guide on linking the 696 with the TT, or to another URL where specific details could be found about doing this?
First, do you have the "bare wire" cord for the 696? It is an accessory you'll need to order from Aircraft Spruce or another vendor.

Second, do you have the pinouts for the TT?

If I recall correctly, the blue wire from the bare wire cord on the 696 attaches to the "NMEA IN" wire on the TT, but I don't remember the wire color from the TT. The red wire from the 696 goes to power, and the black wire to ground, IIRC.

The TT setup page tells you what baud rate and signal type to use and you need to configure the 696 to output the correct signal.

Hopefully, that helps, but if not, follow-up in this thread with the specific TT A/P you're using and we can download the manual and wade through the pinouts and setup.
__________________
Kyle Boatright
Marietta, GA
2001 RV-6 N46KB
2019(?) RV-10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2021, 09:53 PM
dafast1's Avatar
dafast1 dafast1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Boatright View Post
First, do you have the "bare wire" cord for the 696? It is an accessory you'll need to order from Aircraft Spruce or another vendor.

Second, do you have the pinouts for the TT?

If I recall correctly, the blue wire from the bare wire cord on the 696 attaches to the "NMEA IN" wire on the TT, but I don't remember the wire color from the TT. The red wire from the 696 goes to power, and the black wire to ground, IIRC.

The TT setup page tells you what baud rate and signal type to use and you need to configure the 696 to output the correct signal.

Hopefully, that helps, but if not, follow-up in this thread with the specific TT A/P you're using and we can download the manual and wade through the pinouts and setup.
Thanks for the quick reply; very much appreciated. Maybe the word “ignorant” was being too optimistic, sadly most of that was French to me.

Starting here... this one?
https://www.aircraftspruce.ca/catalo...saudiojack.php
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2021, 10:00 PM
Kyle Boatright Kyle Boatright is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,885
Default

Nope. This one:

https://www.aircraftspruce.ca/catalo...rdatacable.php
__________________
Kyle Boatright
Marietta, GA
2001 RV-6 N46KB
2019(?) RV-10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-05-2021, 10:10 PM
dafast1's Avatar
dafast1 dafast1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Boatright View Post
Neat, thanks.
Next... “pin outs for the TT”?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2021, 05:04 AM
Kyle Boatright Kyle Boatright is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dafast1 View Post
Neat, thanks.
Next... “pin outs for the TT”?
Your model of autopilot will have an installation manual that includes the wiring diagram of which pins(connections) to wire to various devices. That's the "pinout". Generally, the pins are numbered (say 1-19 or 1-30), and the diagram tells you (hypothetically) to connect pin 1 to ground, pin 2 to power, pin 3 to..., and so on.
__________________
Kyle Boatright
Marietta, GA
2001 RV-6 N46KB
2019(?) RV-10
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.