What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Transition Trianing RV-9A vs 7A

BillSchlatterer

Well Known Member
Sponsor
Just curious for those that know,.... it seems like it is easier to find transition training in the South for the 9a than the 7a. Is there enough difference between the 9a and 7a from a transition standpoint to matter.

I have a 7a about ready to go but the closest A model transition training is in a 9a?

Is there enough difference in the descent rate, landing flair, engine out,...etc to make a difference?

Thanks

Bill S

I am no expert but I just got transition training in a -6A and my instructor said my training would suffice for the -6a, -7A, or -9A.

It can be done that way, Bill....

...and I've had guys come to me that had flown -9A's first and they were all over the place. It's much more difficult to go from a -9 to a-7 or-6. I've had a dozen or so guys come here for transition training in my -6A and then go home to fly their -9A's...all successfully. The -6 and -7 is so responsive compared to the -9's that the transition surprises you. Not saying it can't be done, but the -9 is so much more docile than the other two.

Best,

Transition training

I must agree with Pierre to the letter. I was one of his transition students, and he trained me in his (very smooth) RV-6A. The 6 is a much more responsive airplane and I feel it was a definite advantage to train on it, and then transition on my own to the 9. As far as landings go, there is really little difference between the two, and it is easy to make the adjustments on your own as you build your skills. As for going the other way... I would think it would be a bit more difficult, and maybe a word of caution may be in order.