What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-12 Questions

RomeoFox

I'm New Here
Hi,

I'm new to VAF and this is my first post. I wanted to introduce myself and say hello. I've wanted to build an RV for a long time and about 10 years ago family and work had to take priority. But now I'm again able to consider the idea of building. I've got my PPL and kept current on Cessnas and for the last 2 years on the SportStar.

I had some questions specific to the RV-12; I think this is the best fit for me and despite reading all I can find on it, answers to these basic questions remain elusive. So I hope you don't mind my taking a bit of bandwidth here to post them. Rather than fire off a dozen posts, I'll try to get them all in this thread and hope for the best. Here goes:

1) RV-12 is Not a Quickbuild
I'm looking for confirmation that this kit arrives all in pieces, nothing built. Is the wing spar not even completed? I ask this question because I'm surprised at Vans' claim that this kit has an 800 hour build time.

2) Blind Riveting Only?
I'd also considered building the RV9/9A but noise would be a huge problem where I live. Besides the fact that I love the RV-12 and its miserly Rotax engine I'm hoping someone can confirm the noise levels building an RV-12 are considerably lower than a machine that needs a proper rivet gun. Are there any properly bucked rivets in the RV-12?

3) Torso Height
I can fit into the Sportstar with my headset quite comfortably but I cannot fit into a 2-seat Katana. The height from the seat to the Canopy is too small. I haven't been close enough to a '12 to sit in one. I measure 38.5 inches butt-to-head without a headset on.

4) Handling Qualities