What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-6A rubber smell on landing

I am relatively new to flying RV6 A's and notice a strong rubber smell whenever I land. This smell seems stronger when I use flaps, and dissipates right after I land. (No, I don't land excessively fast.) I first suspected the main gear fairings rubbing against the main tires but after increasing the space between the fairings and tire the problem persists. Any ideas?

I would check the flap motor.

First thought was tires rubbing but you already checked.

I am also quite new to the 6A, and I've noticed the same thing, pretty much every landing. Found it kind of curious myself.

two posibilities

When I switched from originals to new goodyear flight customs I had to modify my fairings to make room. You said you've done that, but I'd varify that you dont have a transient rub still (with landing deformations). Another posibility is that you're just getting the smoke from that landing "chirp" migrating up through the fairings. Is there direct communication to the cockpit?

I get a fair bit of what seems to be tire dust going up the gear legs, and out from the upper gear fairing on my 6A. I sealed where the gear leg itself goes into the fuselage, but perhaps if I hadn't sealed it, I'd smell burning rubber also. Seems to be air flow upwards in the gear fairings. Try sealing where the gear goes through the fuse belly (actually it is the gear mount).

Burning Rubber