Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-11-2013, 07:20 PM

Default Buyer or builder affordability

Since the Vans Booth thread has ran its course and then derailed, I thought I would continue one of the thoughts in a new thread.

I'm in the camp that really enjoyed building my plane. BUT the reason I did was.... I wanted to fly. I'm a Dam mechanic/operator with a matching paycheck and such live a frugal lifestyle. I have absolutely no business owning airplane, especially an 2010 RV-7. I have a pretty tight monthly flying budget(glad I have free hangar rent)

The thought of plopping down $50, 80 or $100K makes me shiver. But I could budget for $600 radio or $$$ prop. I was realistic when I saw Vans cost estimator....I could do it if I shopped for bargains and took my time. NO way I could ever save the money to buy the plane I own. In fact, The price of new engines were going up faster than I could save and had to get a small loan to purchase a used (overhauled) engine.

A small loan at the end of the build we could swing, but lump sum for the whole airplane...I would be sleeping in it ALONE.

So I am like Bob Collins, only way I could afford my RV is by taking the babysteps building allows.
Old 08-11-2013, 08:07 PM

Default Building Cheap

I am on a mission to build my RV-8 as cheap as possible. My goal is 35K for my RV-8. Many have laughed at the idea. If I don't make it, I think I will be very close. It is possible to build one of these airplanes without spending alot of money