VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 03-02-2013, 08:01 PM
Bwing96 Bwing96 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 50
Default Sky Radar

For those that have the iFly and Sky Radar, where did you mount them?
Soon I will have my new to me RV-6/slider and think finding a place for the iFly 720 won't be much of a problem but my sky radar is the older S-2 model which looks just like the D-2 but has only 1 long antennae.

Can you mount the skyradar behind the seat and it still work as good as it does laying on the glare shield?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2013, 08:27 PM
tturner tturner is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 175
Default

I mounted my Skyradar receiver on the right side wall just behind the right seat. Works fine. RV-6 slider.
__________________
Tommy Turner
Fayetteville GA
RV-4 sold
RV-6 sold
RV-8 Flying
RV-14A building
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2013, 01:26 AM
OneCharlieKilo's Avatar
OneCharlieKilo OneCharlieKilo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 208
Default

I don't have the Sky Radar but for the iFly mounting, I initially used RAM mount on side rail that I had previously used for holding my iPhone:



then I removed the Lowrance 2000C GPS I had installed in the panel and mounted the iFly in it's place (before the iFly upgrade that allowed portrait mode display):



And current configuration:



Complete description of panel change from Lowrance to iFly is at:

http://rv6aproject.ckhand.com/panelA...l/panelPg7.htm
__________________
Chris
RV-6A, N731CK, 300+ hrs
Poulsbo, WA
http://rv6aproject.ckhand.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:21 PM
Carlos151's Avatar
Carlos151 Carlos151 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tturner View Post
I mounted my Skyradar receiver on the right side wall just behind the right seat. Works fine. RV-6 slider.
Not familiar with the RV-6 so when you say behind the right seat, is that behind the bulkhead? I'm considering the Skyradar unit and that would be great if I could mount it behind the rear seat in my -8, and still get a good signal.
__________________
Karl Richcreek
RV-8
N151TK "La Otra Chica"
Flying as of August 14, 2015
TN26
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:40 PM
Bwing96 Bwing96 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 50
Default Skyradar

I think what he is saying is the skradar is mounted to the side wall of the luggage compartment which is behind the seats. I plan on mounting mine in the luggage compartment as soon as I get my plane.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2013, 10:18 AM
walkman's Avatar
walkman walkman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 893
Default Sharing the output?

Soon, very soon I hope, I will have my -6 back in the air. I will have a new HXr and an iFly 720. Is it possible to share the output of the sky radar between the two units?

Btw if you ever go with the Airgizmo panel mount for the iFly you will need a 90 degree USB adapter if you want to use the USB port.
__________________
RV-8 IO-360 (Bought)
RV-6 O-360 C/S (Sold)
Walkman aka Flame Out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2013, 04:35 PM
Flybuddy2's Avatar
Flybuddy2 Flybuddy2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 371
Default

I put mine on an external antenna and hardwired the power. If you do that you can remotely mount it pretty much anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2013, 04:51 PM
RV8iator's Avatar
RV8iator RV8iator is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Simons Island , GA
Posts: 1,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walkman View Post
Soon, very soon I hope, I will have my -6 back in the air. I will have a new HXr and an iFly 720. Is it possible to share the output of the sky radar between the two units?

Btw if you ever go with the Airgizmo panel mount for the iFly you will need a 90 degree USB adapter if you want to use the USB port.
You use the USB output from the Skyradar to the HXr and Wifi from the Skyradar to the iFly 720. You also can use the Skyradar WiFI to run the WX and traffis on your iPad If you want it.
__________________
Jerry "Widget" Morris
RV 8, N8JL, 3,100+ hours on my 8.

VAF #818
Saint Simons Island, GA. KSSI
PIF 2007 - 2022

I just wish I could afford to live the way I do
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2013, 07:47 PM
dtw_rv6 dtw_rv6 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Martinsville, IN
Posts: 455
Default skyradar location

no photo, but I velcro'd my Skyradar to the top of my battery box (-6 slider, battery just aft of the firewall). I installed remote antennas, but was able to use the local mounted antennas to get ads-b signal from inside my hangar. Not sure if I really needed the remotes.

Don
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-29-2013, 04:50 AM
dmaib's Avatar
dmaib dmaib is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Posts: 1,341
Default

If you are using remote xpdr antennas do you need two of them? One for 1090 and one for 978? (D-2)
__________________
David Maib
RV-10 N380DM
New Smyrna Beach, FL
VAF Paid 1/21/2021

"In '69 I was 21, and I called the road my own"
Jackson Browne






Last edited by dmaib : 03-29-2013 at 04:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.