VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 10-25-2012, 08:31 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default Awesome Flight #2

Did some more Fall flying yesterday. Trying out different GoPro mount positions. I need to work some more on the vibration proofing of this mount. Sorry for the shaky video. No audio on this one since I did not want Youtube to flag it.

Flew over Max Patch TN/NC, Good view of the Smokies. A little hazy and I missed the peak of the colors a bit.

__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2012, 08:06 AM
Av8torTom's Avatar
Av8torTom Av8torTom is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,361
Default Beautiful

Nice video; very inspiring...
I don't think that was vibration you were seeing. Looked like some sort if interference, and it seemed to be gone at the end.
__________________
RV-9A (empennage completed, both wings completed, fuselage and finish kit completed, engine hung, working on panel and wiring)
N677AT reserved
Superior XP O-320, 160HP
Picture log: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...8tor215/RV-9A/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2012, 08:39 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8torTom View Post
Nice video; very inspiring...
I don't think that was vibration you were seeing. Looked like some sort if interference, and it seemed to be gone at the end.
Thanks....

I think it is vibration since when I slowed down, it went away. Speed up it gets worse.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2012, 09:47 AM
boom3's Avatar
boom3 boom3 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sumner, WA
Posts: 727
Default

I had very similar results with it under the right wing. Still pretty cool though. Brian, are you using the Wifi backpack? I'm not too happy with the performance. Signal goes in and out a lot.

__________________
Jeff Bloomquist
Sumner, WA
PP-ASEL, IR

RV-7A
Flying
1150 Hours

Last edited by boom3 : 10-26-2012 at 07:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2012, 09:53 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boom3 View Post
I had very similar results with it under the right wing. Still pretty cool though. Brian, are you using the Wifi backpack? I'm not too happy with the performance. Signal goes in and out a lot.

[/url]
Yes, I was using the WiFi backpack with the iPhone app. The signal did come and go on me with it under the wing. In the cockpit it works great. I would think it should have better range.

I just got a notice of an App update, will try that and see if it helps. The update specifically says it adds support for iOS 6. I was using iOS 6 before the update so maybe that has something to do with it???

Jeff, your mount has much less vibration than mine in your video. Please share how you have it mounted....
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook

Last edited by Brantel : 10-26-2012 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2012, 10:39 AM
flyboy1963's Avatar
flyboy1963 flyboy1963 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lake Country, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,434
Default video thoughts....

I'm sure no expert, but i've heard that the 'jello' effect is common, and often can be fixed in post-production. ( but who wants to do that?)
- sounds like a solid mount is important, but you can still get it when the scenery is scrolling by faster than the sensor can scan it, and errors are made.
- apparently putting a makeshift filter or 2 over the lens will cause the exposure to change to let in more light ( equivalent of opening the aperture on an old camera lens) and thus the image capture may improve.
- lots of trial and error with these things...unless you go buy the Contour N-Flight cam with all its lense, filter, sound accessries etc.......but you pay them $500 for figuring out a lot of the glitches.

nice video tho, keep 'em coming!
__________________
Perry Y.
RV-9a - SOLD!....
Lake Country, BC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2012, 10:40 AM
boom3's Avatar
boom3 boom3 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sumner, WA
Posts: 727
Default

Brian, unfortunately I didn't take a picture of it mounted.
I just drilled a hole in one of the Gopro bases and machine countersunk it until a #8 screw was flush. (Just like the other guy who used a screw and tinnerman washer here on the forum.) I thought there was enough meat left so I didn't use a washer. I left the 3M sticky pad installed but did not peal and stick it. I used a little longer 8/32 and mounted it to the outside of the middle wing inspection plate.

As for the Wifi, mine seems a little goofy. Yesterday I had the suction cup mount inside my canopy and it was still coming and going even with the GoPro remote. Somethings definitely up with it and I need to get to the bottom of it.
__________________
Jeff Bloomquist
Sumner, WA
PP-ASEL, IR

RV-7A
Flying
1150 Hours

Last edited by boom3 : 10-26-2012 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2012, 10:45 AM
JerryG150's Avatar
JerryG150 JerryG150 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 348
Default Nice ...

Great video ... Was it the suction cup mount you used? I just ordered a Contour+2 and it came broken. A replacement is on order ... Hope my videos are as good as yours. Annotations are a great addition. Once again, great video!
__________________
"Time, be careful how you spend it ... cause it isn't going to last."
VAF #1037
Reserved N124JG for RV-12
"12 for Jerry G.
http://jerryg150rv12.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2012, 11:06 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

Thanks,

I use the mount that comes inside the box with the camera mounted on it. It has a large square flat base. I don't think it is intended to be used as a mount but I used it that way. I just drilled it for a couple of the holes in the inspection cover.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2012, 02:07 PM
Bubblehead's Avatar
Bubblehead Bubblehead is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 1,553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boom3 View Post
Brian, unfortunately I didn't take a picture of it mounted.
I just drilled a hole in one of the Gopro bases and machine countersunk it until a #8 screw was flush. (Just like the other guy who used a screw and tinnerman washer here on the forum.) I thought there was enough meat left so I didn't use a washer. I left the 3M sticky pad installed but did not peal and stick it. I used a little longer 8/32 and mounted it to the outside of the middle wing inspection plate.
I just tried it the same way with the tinnerman though. First flight was pretty good. It was almost dark and yet I got some decent video. I am looking forward to flying this weekend and seeing what quality I can get. I am just using an original HeroHD with a backpack. The backpack worked fine even with the camera under the left wing.
__________________
RV-8 180 hp IO-360 N247TD with 10" SkyView!

VAF Donations Made 8/2019 and 12/2019
"Cum omni alio deficiente, ludere mortuis."
(When all else fails, play dead.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.